not yet…

So here I am at 4.45am on our EDD (the 12 week scan one, not the clinic one, which was 2 days ago).

I’ve been having irregular contractions since 9pm last night, managed to get some sleep, then they woke me up and I lay awake for a lonnnnng time wondering which piece of vee’s advice to take in the absence of my own common sense;

* don’t let contractions keep you awake counting them obsessively. Take a paracetamol and sleep as much as you can,
Or
* if you can’t sleep, eat or drink something and the contractions might stop.

I chose the second option (partly because I was fed up with lying in bed and loathe to wake vee up as she had a rubbish nights sleep the night before, thanks to my, ahem, *pregnancy related* snoring). The bottom line is, it seems to have worked, so I’m going to try and get back to sleep.

Well, I only have about a 5% chance of giving birth today, right? And all these women keep stressing on messageboards that they’ve been having contractions on and off for days and even WEEKS.

Ooh, better get some kip then.

Xx jay

5 responses to this post.

  1. Good luck, good luck! I think you followed the better advice (at least easier to follow). I can’t wait for more news!

    Reply

  2. Oh, the last days are so, so hard. It sounds like Vee gave you some great tips. Wish I’d done one or both instead of being awake and hungry for three days straight, certain he was coming any moment. (He wasn’t.) Sending patience and strength and rest and deep breaths and every last good labor vibe I can get my hands on!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Melody on September 30, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    I never went through those last few days of expectant waiting b/c my baby girl came earlier than anyone expected, but I imagine its utter torture. I do think Vee’s right about eating though b/c they don’t let you do that in the hospital, and that made me so mad. Waiting with you.

    Reply

  4. Posted by gypsygrrl on September 30, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    sitting watch with you, cant wait to hear!!!
    still remembering getting to be the BB is HERE announcer ❤

    love to you all!
    and get loads of sleep while you can

    xoxo,
    gypsy

    Reply

  5. Posted by wishinghopingpraying on October 1, 2011 at 12:44 am

    I hope you got some rest and the wait isn’t too long.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

