Pregnancy and stuff

So,  in completely astounding news, I find myself 37 weeks and 1 day pregnant.  Some days I find it hard to believe I’m even pregnant AT ALL, never mind due to pop within a month.  That’s the thing, folks; I look at my belly from above and it looks like I’ve maybe had a few too many pies, then I catch sight of myself in the mirror and think HOLY SHIT, WHAT HAPPENED?! [Photographic evidence of this can be found here, for those who like belly shots and stuff.]

And now I have to try and squeeze an entire person through my vagina (or my ‘gina, as BB calls it, which sounds a lot better).

All things considered, though, I’m in a good place at the moment – thanks for asking, K – which is basically a huge relief because I was really heading for The Crazy Place until a couple of weeks ago.  To cut a long story short,  I was experiencing a lot of anxiety and could not cope with any kind of stress, which kind of led to what I think was prenatal depression. My lovely doctor gave me a prescription for Prozac but when I read the side effects for the baby – not likely, but still possible – I just flipped and could not take any.  Look, I’m the kind of person who worries endlessly if I have a25ml beer, so taking antidepressants would actually have made my anxiety worse. Ho, hum.

The weird part?  Since then, I’ve felt SO MUCH BETTER. I saw the doctor again today and she says she doesn’t care why I feel better (it could have been the yoga, the 3-day babymoon we had, the visiting my family, the fab support I’ve had from the amazing vee and some friends) – it’s just good that I do.

I’m hanging on to the Prozac though, just in case, and am trying to line up a counsellor so that I have someone  to contact if I get PND.

Aside from that, I have complete nesting fever, am waking up a zillion times in the night to wee, and, despite trying EVERYTHING possible to avoid them for the past 9 months, was devastated to discover that I now have piles. Just. My. Luck. Right?

Buddy is moving like a little maniac most days, though, and almost making me wish that I could stay pregnant for just a few more months, hey.

I’m joking, vee, really!

xxxx jay

4 responses to this post.

  1. Oh wow, I’m sorry you were struggling with depression. I’m so glad you’re feeling better now and are thinking about lining up support for after the birth. I can’t believe how soon the babe is going to be here! You look wonderful!

    Reply

  2. LOVE the bump. You look fantastic.

    I’m sorry to hear things have been rough, but glad you’re feeling better, by whatever means! It’s always interesting to me how all the little biochemical changes affect people so differently. I have exactly the opposite reaction to pregnancy – it seems to be the only time I DON’T have any anxiety issues. Hopefully all of the advance planning you’re doing for the postpartum period will mean that none of it is needed. Isn’t that how it tends to go? 🙂

    I can’t wait to read a post from you that Buddy is on his or her way!

    Reply

  3. Posted by reproducinggenius on September 16, 2011 at 8:07 am

    You look so lovely, jay, and I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better. I cannot believe you’re so close to having this baby! xo

    Reply

  4. Posted by gypsygrrl on September 23, 2011 at 4:19 am

    HOLY WOW!!! how did you get to be 37wks along!!!
    thinking of you and your family!!!

    xoxoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

