Apple for the teacher

Day 8 – If you had to teach something, what would you teach? (If you DO teach, when did you discover your love for teaching/the subject?) Do you think blogs can play a role in education?

I’d make a rubbish teacher I think. I’m too impatient and too critical. I’m working on it.

If I HAD to teach something, it’d have to something I enjoy and that I thought would be useful to others. Examining my skill set, I’m rather short of options.

Maybe I’d be good at teaching adults how to get really good at reading aloud to children. I LOVE reading aloud to BB; well, to any kid really. I love seeing their rapt expressions and their excitement at the story or the pictures and I don’t have to do the hard work of writing and illustrating myself, just be good at bringing it alive. I’ve read avidly since a young age and have a very active and multi-accented internal voice – perfect for turning to reading aloud. Repeated requests for the same book don’t daunt me; I find a way to make it new every time (though admittedly that’s partly to entertain myself). And, yes, I think it’s be a useful skill to pass on, because it’s so tied up with engendering a live of books, and that’s a wonderful, wonderful thing.

Can blogs play a role? Sure, why not. They can certainly inspire educators and give a window into lived experiences or events one might find almost impossible to tap into via conventional means. The fake blogger scandals of late though are a timely reminder for caution in the search for authenticity.

vee xxx

Leave a Reply

