Day 2 of camp – my High School self

What were you like in high school? What extracurricular activities, if any, did you take part in during high school? Did you consider yourself a writer?

We don’t call it High School where I’m from, but G00gle reliably informs me it caters for those aged 14-18, so Grammar Scool and 6th form for me then.

What was I like? A boffin. One of those annoying straight A grade with no effort kids. But geeky-cool too, I believe, with an eccentric and eclectic dress-sense that kept everyone guessing. I was a bad girl – loose with the boys, a smoker, a drinker, a dope-head, a dirty stop-out. As long as I got good grades, my parents didn’t give me much grief (though I realise now I probably gave them plenty!)

I wasn’t really dedicated to anything extra-curricula that could be considered desirable or educational, apart from a brief spell in the school choir.

I definitely didn’t consider myself a writer. The only things I wrote were essays (good ones, mind) and letters. I was a prolific letter write with many pen pals. And now of course there’s the blog, but I don’t believe my writing makes me a writer.

vee xxx

Leave a Reply

