Blog. What is for, blog?

Yes, we’re still here. Yes, all is still well with the four of us. Yes, we are still crap at blogging.

Significant events we have recently failed to blog about include:

  • BB’s 2nd birthday
  • 5 trips to Accident and Emergency with BB (who is FINE now, so don’t worry)
  • The Telling about Buddy to family and friends
  • Redundancy
  • Buying a new car

We’re both really struggling to find any motivation to blog here at the moment. Neither of us are life-chroniclers; we started blogging in the hope of connecting to other people going through similar experiences. We wanted the support and advice and, as we became more seasoned, were keen to support others in return. We did it for the comments, people! But now we have our fairytale ending – one lovely boy and another baby on the way. I still feel very connected to the stories of those people I’ve followed from the start; each time one stops blogging I feel I’ve lost a friend; but I haven’t added any new blogs to my reader for an age – it feels inappropriate and intrusive to start reading of someone else’s pain now we’re on the other side.

I don’t think either of us want to lose the connections we’ve made in this online community. We’re lucky enough now to have flesh and blood community around us too, but they don’t know or understand The Story in the way that you guys do. And judging by our stats, people do still pass by here.

So where do we go from here? Intermittent posting? Facebook (shudder)? Twitter? (Jay already “does” both anyway.) A combination? What’s working/not working for those of you who’ve come to a similar juncture and moved on? We’ve always kept this place separate and have been leery of people we know in real life tracking us back here, but less so than we were. I think with some careful locking of certain posts, I could live with the possibility.

Help us, please!

vee xxx

13 responses to this post.

  1. Um, Jay is on fb AND twitter and I didn’t know it? My heart breaks! Find me and tell me who you are (I am twomomsandababy on twitter).

    Reply

  2. I feel like we’re in the same spot. I’m still trying to figure out what to do. I love all the people I’ve met through the blog but find it hard to keep it up.

    If you do end up on fb look me up (serendipity7777 at hotmail dot com).

    Reply

  3. Posted by tbean on April 7, 2011 at 11:18 pm

    yeah. ditto.

    Reply

  4. I definitely understand.

    If you decide to keep in touch on Facebook, there are plenty of IVP ladies there. Find me, won’t you? xo

    Reply

  5. I’d love for you to keep on blogging, however intermittently. I receive a notice when you update, so it’s not like I have to visit to see that you’ve not posted anything new. I haven’t been much of a commenter (I’m sorry!), but I’ve loved reading your “happily ever after” after going through the TTC part with you. We’re just starting to try for #2, and if we succeed I’ll be looking to you for insight into sibling dynamics and parental juggling feats. But, if you decide not to blog any more, I’ll survive. I’ll miss you, but I’ll survive.

    Reply

  6. Posted by simonesmom on April 8, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    I’ve surrendered entirely to the FB monster and have connected w/a few IVP folks there. You know my real name. Please look me up too– would love to share pics of my real life with you guys. I just don’t have the time or energy for blogging anymore.

    Melody (formerly Indyness)

    Reply

  7. I feel like I’m approaching a similar crossroads and, for me, it’s manifesting itself as a pull toward the fewer, deeper connections of FB versus the vast and anonymous blogosphere. (And now that Jay’s secret is out, I will be searching her out in 5… 4… 3… 2…)

    I’m in full support of the intermittent posting, too – whatever you guys want to do. It’s always nice to see an update from you no matter how much time has passed since the last one.

    Happy Birthday to BB (glad you are well – stop scaring your mums) and congrats on getting to let your happy cat out of the bag!

    Reply

  8. Posted by k77 on April 10, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    Same place here, pretty much as you described it (but not pg). You can find me on FB under my real name ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  9. I totally get this post. I wonder about keeping my blog sometimes but I do it because it is for me and not for the world anymore. I no longer grade myself based on what my stats say….I would be a big fail that way. I also no longer connect to new blogs but I do try to keep up with the community I found here. I am already friends with many of them on FB and would be happy to keep up with you there. Email me and we can be FB friends if you want.

    I love keeping up with you guys – some of the first ever blog friends I had and now we are both expecting #2 with both moms having a chance to be pregnant. I love your posts and would be glad to keep reading along, but I also respect your decision to unblog if you want. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  10. Definitely at the same spot! I’m on Facebook and do photo updates on the i.phone through instag.ram. Shoot me a message at lgraeapparel@hotmail.com if you want to connect via FB ๐Ÿ™‚
    xoxo

    Reply

  11. Yep, I’m right there with you. Would love to connect on FB, if you want!

    Reply

  12. I’d love to connect through Facebook too! I’m still trying to figure the damn thing out. Send me an email gaybyrabies@yahoo.com if you’d like!

    Reply

  13. I’m like everyone else. I am very rarely blogging (obviously.) I’m connected on FB land now, and have also connected with several bloggers that way. If you care to look me up, I’m svanderlind at sbc dot global dot net.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

