*deep breath*

I’ve held off from posting this for a while because, oh I don’t know, mostly  because, god, I can’t believe it either, and also because I know it won’t be easy reading for some of you. For that, I truly apologise.

We’re about to start TTC again. Mad? Quite possibly. The bottom line is that we’ve always wanted BB to have a sibling and now seems to be a good time.

This time, we will use my body and not vee’s … this will be all kinds of weird. Vee does biology so much better than I. We’ve been to my GP and asked to have the blood tests done on the NHS rather than via the clinic, which will save us a considerable about of money. She agreed without a second thought (she’s a dyke, damnit) and so last Friday, vee and BB-in-the-Ergo frogmarched me to the lovely phlebotomists at the hospital who managed to draw just enough blood after poking and tapping at my errant arms for a long, long time, all the while I tried not to pass out and kept cracking lame jokes. Did I mention I have a needle phobia?

I feel pale even thinking about that now. The fact that the big purple bruise on my left arm looks totally fake, as if it was created by a make-up artist, seems really quite appropriate.

So yeah, it’s going to be all kinds of weird. I feel weird just typing this. But we want another baby – we’ve got some same donor sperm set aside for our family, and as long as the tests and shit go OK, we should be trying for BB’s sibling within a few months.

Yeah.

Yikes.

xx jay

24 responses to this post.

  1. Wishing you all kinds of luck in your journey!

    Reply

  2. Sending you tons of good luck wishes!!

    Reply

  3. Oh wow – I can only imagine how strange this feels for you but I hope you won’t be shy about posting all the details. You two went through so much to get bb, you’ve earned a lifetime of carefree posting privilege. I’m so excited you’re trying again.

    I hope that the journey for baby 2 is short and joyful. I’m very curious to know what your plan is going to be (if you’re doing meds or natural etc.) once you feel up to posting about it.

    Good job with the needles!

    Reply

  4. Posted by tbean on July 12, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    Excellent news! I’m buckled in and ready for the ride!

    Reply

  5. Wishing you all the best! And eager to be there with you as the 2nd-time-bio-mom.

    Reply

  6. Posted by reproducinggenius on July 12, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Oh, girls, I’m so excited to hear this, and I’m wishing you a quick process! xo

    Reply

  7. Yay! You are going to be great. I am impressed that you are facing your needle fears head-on. Really. You are awesome. Now I need to make another TWW advent calendar.

    Reply

  8. So exciting! Congratulations on the first step of the second leg of your journey!

    Looking forward to hearing all about it!

    Reply

  9. Posted by wishinghopingpraying on July 13, 2010 at 12:52 am

    How exciting! Sending you lots of luck and minimal needle encounter vibes 🙂

    Reply

  10. i love that news! looking forward to many updates on your new journey.

    Reply

  11. Posted by gypsygrrl on July 13, 2010 at 3:08 am

    EX-CI-TING!
    ❤ to you all…

    Reply

  12. wowza! go forth and multiply i believe it was said 😉 enjoy the ride from the other seat… well, ok, so enjoy might be not the right word for a good part of it…

    Reply

  13. Good luck, ladies! Looking forward to reading about your continuing journey. Perhaps we’ll call the new one ‘mega ball’?

    Reply

  14. VERY EXCITING!!

    Reply

  15. Wow that is exciting – can’t wait to read and cheer along! That’s cool that you got some funding for the tests, how far does that take you? I seem to remember you posted about some nhs funding way way back, but I’m assuming that that’s off the table now that you’re switching up?

    Reply

  16. Posted by scarredbellybutton on July 14, 2010 at 10:10 am

    Yay! Emla cream is your friend.

    Reply

  17. I AM SO EXCITED!

    Reply

  18. Hooray! Wonderful news! And I am looking forward to hearing all about it! Here’s to a short and prodctive TTC journey! And to a little sib for sweet BB!

    Reply

  19. Yikes! I too hate needles. Congratulations and good luck!

    Reply

  20. Very excited for you guys!!! I hope it happens quickly……I can’t wait to follow along with this new journey and hear all about BB’s sibling down the road!!!!!!!!!! xoxo

    Reply

  21. Posted by raztaz on July 16, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    I hope your journey is an easy one!!

    Reply

  22. this is WONDERFUL news!!!! I am very excited for you all and can’t wait for all the deets. (& you better not spare any deets!!!)

    Reply

  23. Posted by simonesmom on July 19, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    Yay!!!!!

    Reply

  24. Posted by starrhillgirl on July 21, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    How did I miss this?! YAY! I hope it is fast a painless and involves no more bruising : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

