Bitten

We got a call today from nursery to tell us that another child had bitten our baby!  He was very brave, apparently, and didn’t cry for long. More interested in getting back into the sandpit, I reckon.  We weren’t too worried, after all, these things happen, right?

But OH. MY. GOD! When I picked him up his eye was puffed and swollen and there was a big purple and red mark on his cheekbone like he’d been lumped by a welterweight.  And there had been blood.  Blood, people!  The biter must be part pitbull!

The boy is seemingly unscathed by this misadventure, fortunately, but who knew being a toddler could be so dangerous?

I’m dreading the day we get the other end of the call too, though. Your son has bitten another child. That must feel equally horrible.

vee xxx

8 responses to this post.

  1. So sorry to hear your bb has bee biten! I’d say I’m glad we don’t have to deal with that since our boys stay home with my mom, but with two one-year olds, we are constantly on watch that they don’t mistreat eachother. So far its just toy stealing!

    Hope his eye heals nicely and you don’t get that call anytime soon. 😉

    Reply

  2. Posted by reproducinggenius on July 6, 2010 at 2:29 am

    Poor BB! It sounds as though he was very brave!

    Reply

  3. Wow, I think that you handled that whole situation very well I must say. It’s good to know that there may be a time when he may do it to someone else. That was all very grown up of you.
    Your Friend, m.

    Reply

  4. Poor guy!

    Reply

  5. Oh man, that stinks. I was a biter. We turn out OK in the long run.

    Reply

  6. We signed more than one critical incident report at daycare when my son was bitten… That biting age is a strange one, and really just a stage, but seeing little teeth marks (and in M’s case a bright purple tiny-mouth-shaped bruise) is so heartbreaking. Thankfully M was never a biter, but I always knew it was a theoretical possibility so that kept me calm, non-judegemental and from hating the little biter. And the biting phase gives way to the hitting phase and then the name calling phase… sigh…

    I hope BB heals fast!

    Reply

  7. Awh, the poor little man!!!! Hope he’s back to his old self in no time. That had to have been traumatic for the poor guy!!!!!!

    Reply

  8. Been on both sides of that one and I’m not sure which is worse. We’re now up to 3 “bittens” and only 1 “bit” so the “bittens” may take it based upon cumulative effect alone. The first time it happened, nothing was written on his sheet about it (promptly addressed by mom, hasn’t happened again) but I knew he didn’t do it to himself because I could easily count eight distinct teeth marks on his forearm and he only had seven teeth at the time. *sigh*

    I have a feeling we all have much more of this to get through still.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

