One Today! (a.k.a. How The Hell Did That Happen?!)

My lovely boy;

Because you are one today and it is such a special and insane day, your Mummy Vee and I are BOTH blogging. This is me, Mummy Jay, typing first while you are napping…

I cannot believe you are one.  ONE?!  Weirdly, that seems so old. I keep wondering where our baby went and wishing we could REWIND and REPLAY on continuous loop forever. And then I remember you’re still our baby and always will be (even when you’re 14 and horrified at the concept, especially lest your friends find out).  Good lord, though, you’ve grown, most of all your hair. And you never keep still!

I’m soooo proud that we’ve managed to take your photograph every day for a whole year.  Get me!  I’m especially proud of yesterday’s Mothers’ Day video of you signing MUMMY over and over again. Neither your Mummy Vee nor I will ever tire of seeing you sign that, although we wish you weren’t so fond of doing it while you’re eating… particularly not when you’re eating a tuna sandwich or peanut butter on toast. It’s quite a messy sign(!)

Today we went out with your Nannie and Grandad to a kind of farm type place where you were rather unimpressed with all the animals, as we predicted. Your favourite part was definitely your lunch, as well as crawling all over the reptile room floor, ignoring all the reptiles and trying to break into their enclosures. I wish I’d remembered that when you stuffed your grubby little hands into my mouth later on.  Bleugh!

Anyway. I’m so happy and proud to be one of your mothers. Happy birthday, BB!

All my love, Mummy Jay xxxx

##########

Hey Baby, Mummy Vee here. Your mummy Jay beat me to all the good yarns, but that’s probably just as well, given that I only have a few minutes here.

So, the first anniversary of the day of your birth is upon us already. I’m not sure why that makes me feel so tearful, because I’m not really sad. It’s true, I do miss the wee babby you once were, but I am so looking forward to getting to know the little boy you’re becoming.

I’ve been thinking a lot today about how we first met, this time last year. The amazingness and the ordinariness of it still blow me away. I love you. Happy birthday, little one.

Mummy Vee xxx

15 responses to this post.

  1. Happy birthday, little man!

    And happy birthing day, mums!

    Reply

  2. I can’t believe he’s one! I love all of his beautiful hair!

    Reply

  3. Posted by gypsygrrl on March 15, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    happy 1st birthday, little friend!!! big hugs to your mummies for blogging and sharing your first year with us, ESPECIALLY the photos ~ i havent felt so far…

    one of these days, your aunt gypsy is gonna come visit and we will send your mums out for a proper date and you and me will hang out, mmkay?

    love you sweet boy!
    xo,
    your aunt gypsy

    Reply

  4. YAY! BB!!! I can’t believe he is ONE. This is HUGE. Seriously. Wow. I remember the day he was conceived! You have all done a wonderful job this year! Congratulations! 🙂

    Reply

  5. oooooh I am weeping just remembering all the JOY from a year ago. And celebrating all the joy that has happened in this swift year. Happy birthday to dear BB and to his fantastic Moms!

    Reply

  6. Posted by wishinghopingpraying on March 16, 2010 at 6:07 am

    Happy Birthday BB! Here’s to many, many more years of love and happiness 🙂

    Reply

  7. Oh, happy happy birthday to BB. And happy momiversary to you guys…

    Reply

  8. Posted by reproducinggenius on March 16, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    My goodness, I’m tearing up myself! How can he possibly be one? Enjoy reflecting on the past year, ladies. I’m sure it’s beautiful and overwhelming to do so.

    Happy Birthday BB! What a beautiful boy you are!

    xoxo

    Reply

  9. Happy one year birthday! Wow…the time just soars doesn’t it?

    Reply

  10. Happy Birthday BB!!!

    Reply

  11. Wow! Really? How time flies.

    Happy Birthday, BB! We’re so glad you’re in this world!

    Reply

  12. Posted by svillage on March 19, 2010 at 3:04 am

    Happy Birthday!!!

    Reply

  13. Happy birthday!

    Reply

  14. Mommy signing and Malt Loaf! I’m in heaven!
    I miss me some malt loaf – we don’t get it over here in the US!
    Happy belated birthday BB! He’s adorable!
    And what a great idea to take his picture every day – I might have to borrow that one day!

    Reply

  15. Happy 1st Birthday BB!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

