It was good while it lasted.

It seems the services of my milky mammaries really are no longer required.

No amount of coaxing (or playing cool) has managed to tempt BB back onto the breast.  It’s been over a fortnight now and he has made his preference for the cup abundantly clear.  Hell, it’s fuller and it comes out quicker – kid after my own heart!

These last few days, I’ve pretty much given up offering, if I’m honest, as it was just getting to hard not to take the rejection personally.

Now I’m not milk-mummy anymore, I have to find my new place in our family dynamic.  I’m feeling a little lost.

vee xxx

12 responses to this post.

  1. Awww… he still needs and loves you, and no less so than when you were his sole source of nourishment. Congratulations on being his milk-mummy this long!

    Reply

  2. Big hugs during this transition. xo

    Reply

  3. I’m so sorry. But congratulations for making it so far! It’s amazing!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by svillage on March 2, 2010 at 12:28 am

    hugs.

    Reply

  5. =( sorry for the feelings of loss. BUT…on the upside, your baby has independently made the choice. that is baby-lead eating at its best!!

    Reply

  6. Posted by giggleblue on March 2, 2010 at 2:36 am

    i totally substituted by becoming the baby food maker. i can’t say it filled the loss, but it has helped a bit i guess, to help me feel like a nurturer for longer.

    but now she’s moving more towards finger foods. it gets easier, promise.

    Reply

  7. Posted by scarredbellybutton on March 2, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    Many many hugs to you! Have you had a look at http://www.ibreastfed.com ? I’m pretty sure there’s at least one story there about going back to the boob after a break.

    Reply

  8. Posted by simonesmom on March 2, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    Re Giggle’s comment– Simone’s on finger food now, and I revel is making her lunch for daycare every day. Seriously it is so much fun to come up with balanced choices and figure out what she might like. Reminds me I’m still mom and she still needs me no matter what.

    Reply

  9. Posted by gypsygrrl on March 2, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    you are still him most awesome mummy and he needs you just as much ~ maybe even more, as a subliminal teaching him about respect for choices and decisions made by him 🙂

    BB is lucky to have such loving moms!!! 🙂

    Reply

  10. (((hugs))) I know it is going to be emotional xo

    Reply

  11. Big big hugs… I am dreading the moment I too am no longer milk mama to our twin boys. They are getting to 11 months this week, and its coming to an end quicker than I ever thought it would.

    Congrats on breastfeeding so long, and to be positive, at least it was his choice and there was no battle to get him off the boob. I have friends who struggled at nearly two years to wean their baby from the breast.

    Reply

  12. As I wrote when this happened to me in January, this has been super difficult for me, too. Everyone was right about my next period’s arrival improving my mood. As for the sorting out of our relationship, I feel like that’s come along, too. It took a month or two. Much better now. It will get better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

