Boob strike!

BB is finally on the mend it seems. We had a very rough patch over the weekend, when, already off his food for days, he also started refusing to breastfeed and would only take a little water from a cup. Jay had the brainwave of trying him with some expressed milk in a cup and he tore into it, much to our surprise! Turns out that he has a whacking great ulcer on the roof of his mouth so once the gastro left town, he was still reluctant to eat or drink because of the pain it was causing him. Milk in a cup was pretty painless, it seems.

Problem is though, that damned ulcer is hanging around and I still can’t persuade him to try taking milk from the source again. Every time I lift up my top and pop one out for him, he starts crying and pushing me away. I’m pumping as much as I can and even so, our freezer stash has taken quite a hammering. We’re running up and down day and night with cups of the damned stuff, which he’s eager to gulp down, catching up for calories lost while he was sick. Food is starting to make a comeback, but slowly.

I’m at a loss as to what I might to to get him nursing again and I’m honestly not sure how much longer I can keep up with such a stringent pumping routine (and those 10-12oz a day I can get from my 4 or 5 sessions are being supplemented by frozen stuff, which is going to run out soon too).

I don’t want to stop nursing him yet! I don’t want it to come to an end because of a stupid stomach bug and a fricken mouth ulcer! I don’t want to be weighing the pros and cons of cows’ milk or follow-on formula milk for him, even if those thoughts are only at the back of my mind for the time being.  But something’s got to give soon.

Er, gotta go and pump…

vee 😦 xxx

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by wishinghopingpraying on February 17, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    I am so sorry. Poor little BB and poor you trying to keep your supply and stash up. I wish I had some great words of wisdom but all I have are good thoughts and some hugs. I hope he and the boob are reunited soon.

    Reply

  2. Oh shoot! That is terrible! I hope it resolves itself soon! I have nooo idea what to do with this situation. 😦

    Reply

  3. Yikes, I can’t say as I blame him for being hesitant to nurse if it’s hurting, and I certainly feel for you!

    Even if it’s feeling better (or when it finally is) he might be scared, because he remembers it hurting.

    Sometimes a reluctant baby will nurse when sleepy (or asleep-ish) and not really thinking about it.

    Maybe a “dreamfeed” would work?

    Lots more suggestions here:
    http://www.kellymom.com/bf/concerns/baby/back-to-breast.html

    Reply

  4. awwwww. poor family.
    Sadly W completely self weaned a month ago. It was hard and my boobs are still figuring out what normal is now. It doesn’t sound like ya’ll are there and I am bummed that illness has derailed the routine.
    xoxo

    Reply

  5. I agree that nursing him while he is sleeping or almost asleep might work. There are days that I was too lazy to get up and pump so I’d just lay next to one of the boys while they were asleep and pu the boob next to their mouth to see if they’d take it and lo and behold they both opened up…even in complete sleep! Maybe if he starts this way and it isn’t painful, you can get him to remember the good parts. Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

