Stupid question #2

Ok, so the first night with BB in his own room was not so bad. I can see how this new arrangement could be good. I mean, I didn’t actually get much more sleep last night than I did when he was in with us, but I could have done. I could have done if I hadn’t been lying awake wondering whether he’d choked on his dummy. Or strangled himself with his swaddle. Or suffocated on his little quilt. Or simply just stopped breathing.

On the plus side, when I did hear him stir a couple of times, I didn’t feel the same urge to leap straight out of bed and over to his cot. I left him to it and good job too, because he settled himself straight back off to sleep without my interference. Which makes me feel pretty stupid for all the leaping I’ve been doing these past 8 months.

And now you’re wondering how the hell I heard him stir in the first place, right? What do you mean, I’m not supposed to have the baby monitor right next to me on the bedside table? It defeats the point of the exercise? Mmm, yeah, maybe. I mean, it’s not like we live in a mansion. He’s no more than 10 steps away, bedside to cotside. I’ll hear him ok without the monitor, right? Right?

vee xxx

6 responses to this post.

  1. we still keep the monitor on, even though j is in the next room. we learned to sleep through the sighs and rearrangements, and to predict those actual waking moments.

    and on those nights when we are convinced something sinister has happened, her subtle snoring is such a balm.

    good job with night # 1 mamas!

    Reply

  2. Isn’t that what monitors are for? Extra reassurement? And to listen in when he starts babbling to his stuffed animals. I know…we’re bad, he’s got tons of crap in there.

    Reply

  3. McBean’s room is not much further away but we have a monitor too! It’s very reassuring. And I agree that it is also very lovely to wake up to a boy chatting away to his bears, and to hear adorable little snores.

    Reply

  4. Posted by rhetorician on November 14, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    we have the monitor turned on too – very very low…cos the flashing light will wake you up if necessary. It’s a bit like a security blanket…oh, hang on, that’s supposed to be the baby…

    Reply

  5. I don’t even sleep in the same room as the monitor now because I would be up all night watching him (we use the video monitor we originally got for GM)

    I also feel like I should be getting MORE sleep now that W is sleeping in his own room. But I somehow always manage to stay up too late now and get less sleep. sigh

    Reply

  6. Posted by merr on November 16, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    We used the monitor at first when we moved our baby out, but every little breath she made woke us up. So we just leave our door open and hers a bit and we can hear everything, and she is more than 10 steps away.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

