The nursery and the nursery

I just realised that when I said we would be posting about nursery,  the non-Brits who read this would think I meant BB’s bedroom, which is what vee blogged about last night anyway.  I didn’t – I meant nursery as in daycare, i.e. the place where you leave your kid for X number of hours while you do other stuff like go to work or clean your crazily dishevelled house. (See!  We aren’t as organised as you might think we are!)

ANYWAY.  I just wanted to say that we’ll be looking around a couple of nurseries next week so that BB can go in a couple of times a week and we can do the above mentioned other stuff. It’ll be good for us and – most importantly – good for him, because he will get to realise there’s a world outside our house and things like that. The two nurseries we managed to get appointments for are looking good, too, as one of them is attended by kids from at least two two-mummed families, and while we don’t yet know if this is also true of the other one, it strongly advocates outside play, and as we’re fans of fresh air, that suits us fine.

We’ll see.

I am quite sure BB will be fine – it’s me I’m worried about … we haven’t left him with many people to date.  We’ve done it twice, in fact; when we went for a date when he was asleep, and a couple of weeks ago when we left him with vee’s mum and I broke into a totally irrational cold sweat when she took him round to see her neighbour and was gone for more than, oh, about 45 seconds. I need to get a grip, I know.

So lets move on and admire my handiwork, as I put up BB’s cot in his room – HIS ROOM! – this evening, watched patiently by the lad himself. In fact, lets go the whole hog, totally copy K, and admire his entire bedroom (or nursery, if you are so inclined).  I hereby present a panoramic view, excluding the door and window, in case you were wondering(!)

IMG_4188

IMG_4190

IMG_4192

IMG_4194

He’s in there right now, asleep. On his own. For the first time.

Eek. I know it was the right thing to do, and he will be fine.

But, eek.

xx jay

6 responses to this post.

  1. What a burden it must be for you to always keep track of what you’re saying and keep track of what we Americans think you’re saying and then have to adjust accordingly!

    I love BB’s room – it looks very cozy.

    Reply

  2. The first few nights were really weird for us. Lonely and quiet. But it didn’t take much time to get used to it. And Theo has always (since 6 mos.) loved being and sleeping in his own room. Hope its as smooth for BB.

    Reply

  3. awwwwww! W & has the same crib mobile! I’m a dork, but that just totally made me smile to see.

    Reply

  4. Posted by rhetorician on November 14, 2009 at 9:28 am

    the first thing I always look for is stuff from IKEA. Check! lucky bb, looks lovely. Poor C has hardly any stuff compared to her peers and has to amuse herself with sundry household items…

    Reply

  5. Posted by gypsygrrl on November 14, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    i love BB’s new digs 🙂

    Reply

  6. I spy a panda!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

