Milestones are scary.

I really don’t want to be one of those parents who wraps their kid in cotton wool and agonises over things like letting them play outside alone, or walk to school with their friends, or over letting them ride their bike downhill FAST WITH NO HANDS.  OK, maybe that last example was a bit extreme,  but hey I did that and the fear I felt then has shaped me into the person I am today.

My parents weren’t like that at all, but my Grandma was, which both annoyed me a bit and made me worry that there was something new to worry about that I hadn’t already worried about, and I so don’t want to give BB that kind of complex.

The day after vee posted about him rolling over, then not bothering to do so again, contrary child that he is, he started rolling back-to-front with a vengeance. The only thing he wants to do right now is roll. Then last night when it was too hot – or so we thought – to swaddle BB, and we put him down in a Grobag instead, I really annoyed myself by totally being Wussy Mummy.  He hasn’t slept in a Grobag since he rolled over the first time and my, what a difference. Within seconds, he was rolling from his back to his front.  Eeeek!

So we flipped him over, but he was at it again, and vee pointed out that he might WANT to sleep on his tummy and it would be perfectly safe and whatever, but I totally wasn’t ready for him to be MOVING and rolling and doing “dangerous” things so we decided that I’d ‘supervise’ him for a while.

So I lay on the bed trying to look as nonchalant and relaxed and non-complex-giving as at all possible and watched him while he rolled on his tummy and squashed his face into the mattress and sucked his dummy. Of the firm opinion that he should learn things for himself, I didn’t intervene except to give him his dummy back a few times, and to unstick his little hand when it got stuck between the cot bars. And god, it was hard. I felt like I was on that science experiment-type TV programme where they make parents watch their children on CCTV while they live alone and pick on each other.

In the end, vee and I decided to swaddle BB, because we didn’t want him to jam his limbs in the cot, or wedge himself half-turned against the bars  and because he isn’t a Level 1 Roller just yet, just a beginner, so we were worried he might not be able to roll himself back again if he wanted to. He slept like a baby until 6.30am (!the joy!). BUT he just bust out of his swaddle during his afternoon nap, as so:

roller

(And yes, it is hard being around this amount of cuteness on a daily basis.)

Having just one arm free makes it even more scary (for me). So what do we do? How do I *cough* grow the female equivalent of balls and just let our son be,  to learn for himself how to roll and dislodge himself from whatever? Or, should we swaddle him tighter until he’s older and more mobile?

I think I’ll like it better when he’s riding a bike.

xx jay

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by nutella on August 20, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    Well, he is the BB, so that gives him special rolling powers, yes?

    I worry that Miles will flip himself over and get stuck that way too. But, it’s all part of them growing up. If he’s in distress, he’ll let us know.

    Also, we have this breathable bumper http://www.breathablebaby.com/ on his crib slats so he can’t wedge his legs or arms in and could brethe if his face gets smooshed against the sides.

    Reply

  2. LOL. We have just realised what bumpers are for! DUH. Thought they were just there to look pretty(!)

    Thanks!

    Reply

  3. Swaddle til he’s 12. That’s my final answer.

    Reply

  4. I was worried too, but when we stopped swaddling and just let our daughter do her thing, it was fine. Yes, she sometimes got very turned around. Or turned over and cried because she couldn’t turn back. Or cried because an arm or a leg got stuck out of the bars. But she didn’t hurt herself, and eventually she started being able to get herself out of a jam. Also, it was actually better once she could turn over on her stomach to sleep. By then I knew she could move her face away from the mattress to breath if necessary, and she vastly preferred stomach sleeping and moved around less.

    Reply

  5. can not stop laughing at the photo!!! We had to stop swaddling W around 3 months because instead of going to sleep it became this game for him to bust out. He took extreme delight in it and all sleepy dust that was on him fell away as he worked like crazy to bust out of the swaddle.

    I am going to e-mail you a link to another blog that will CRACK you up about this very same anxiety.

    (aka- this angst has got to be normal if other people are blogging about it too!)
    xo

    Reply

  6. ha ha! say bye bye to the swaddle i say 🙂
    he will figure it out, i promise….
    it is normal to worry though….i did too!

    man he is cute!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  7. That is too funny! I think I am going to be the same way! (Maybe worse?) Our boys haven’t even made it to sleeping in their cribs (cot?) yet so you are way ahead of us! and that is one adorable picture!

    Reply

  8. First off, the bike is no easier to deal with, believe me. They scream louder as their vocal cords develop. Just trust me on this one.

    That kid of yours… OMG he is just so incredibly cute! And he is looking so much like a kid! And I love all that hair… How I miss the chubby forearm stage though… *sigh*

    Reply

  9. Posted by reproducinggenius on August 21, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    I positively love that photo. I don’t know how a baby can possibly be that cute–but there he is. No advice on the swaddling, although I think I’m more in line with Olive. I imagine we’ll swaddle Egghead until he’s 18 and headed out of the house for college–and then we’ll have to teach his poor roommate to do it.

    Reply

  10. Posted by gypsygrrl on August 22, 2009 at 2:27 am

    i dont even have a reply about the rest of your post, because that photo is so insanely in the amount of Teh Cute it contains. it must be exhausting to live with all the cuteness…

    please squish my little BB-friend from his aunt gypsy, ok?

    xoxo

    Reply

  11. Posted by scarredbellybutton on August 23, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    He is cute!

    You’ve just got to trust. Trust that he knows (on some level) what he’s doing. TBB is a speed demon, TTG is a full-on climber. That’s the only way to get through it.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Jen M on August 27, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Our son also worked on escaping from his swaddle and so we gave up on it pretty quickly. And as soon as he could roll over, his favorite position for sleeping is what we called the “give your mommies a heart attack” pose–on his tummy, butt in the air and face squashed against the mattress! Scary to watch, but he was just fine. BB will be too. And if he gets in some uncomfortable jam that he can’t get himself out of, he’ll let you know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

