How did it get to be a year ago?!

ayearon

Calm yourselves, ladies. We aren’t up the duff for the second time already – BB is modelling one of the 20+ pee sticks that we used and fretted over this time last year.

Yeah, exactly one year ago we were totally in denial that BB had been conceived, and promptly had a huge pee stick fit, accompanied as ever by you lovely IVPers, who were far more able to see the second line than we were, and you told us so.

So how did it get to be a fucking year? I have no idea. This time last year we were freaking out every time vee went to the loo, hissing; “IS THERE BLOOD?” “NO BLOOD!”, and right now we have  a 15 week old baby who alternates between grinning beatifically and wailing pitifully when he remembers that he’s currently under the weather with a cough and cold, bless him.

So yeah, a lot has happened in a year. We couldn’t be more grateful for our son, and still can’t believe that A LINE IS A LINE and he is here. Trust me, we pinch ourselves daily.

So a lot is different now. We have nappies on our washing line and sick on our shirts.  Some things don’t change much though. The pain of trying and trying and trying is still with us, and so is the bitterness. It sounds ungrateful but at least I’m honest. They are fading, but once an IF, always an IF, I guess. It’s true what they say though – it’s totally worth it in the end.

And onwards and upwards. I really can’t tell you how much I’m hoping for second lines for all of you who’re still trying. A line is a line is a line, and there are enough fucking lines to go round us all, darnit.

Thank you for sticking with us through thick and thin.

xxxx jay

20 responses to this post.

  1. Omg! What a cutie! I love this pic. What a great idea. Totally stealing it for S’s baby book.

    Reply

  2. Happy conception day BB!!!

    Reply

  3. I cannot tell you how much I love this picture!!

    Reply

  4. Adorable, and look at him holding his roots!

    Reply

  5. Posted by tbean on June 29, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    What an amazing photo. Thanks for being out there, modeling for me, that there is a happy ending. It keeps me going.

    Reply

  6. Ha ha! What a great picture! Today is the 1 year anniversary of my first so-faint-I-thought-I-was-seeing-things BFP as well. I’ve got a similar commemorative post brewing in my mind, but it will be nowhere near as ingenious as this one. 🙂 Congrats, my friends!

    Reply

  7. Posted by tbean on June 29, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    ps: I LOVE that you saved the pee sticks. I am SO doing that. My kid will be in high school and I’ll still be taking those damn pee sticks out and showing them off.

    Reply

  8. love this photo!!
    xoxo

    Reply

  9. i love this photo more than the *12wks in/12wks out* one…

    he is a pumpkin and i am in awe that time flies and marches on…

    love you all…esp my little snotty BB friend…

    Reply

  10. that is such a sweet picture, i love it!!

    Reply

  11. that is the cutest thing i have EVER seen!

    Reply

  12. congratulations on a wonderful year. he is one gorgeous baby.

    Reply

  13. Wow a year, that’s amazing – love the pic and the way he’s just holding the stick so nonchalently like he’s saying ‘of course you were pregnant sillies, where do you think I was coming from??’

    Reply

  14. What a year it was! I’m so glad I got to share it with you. That picture is awesome!

    Reply

  15. Its amazing what a year can give you, eh? That is one beauty of a boy you have…

    Reply

  16. Wow! How awesome is this photo!??
    Can’t believe it’s been a year!!!!!!!

    Reply

  17. he is so beautiful.
    i love his eyes.
    keep coming back to see his gorgeousness. wish i lived down the road and could stop by in real life for a cup of tea and to smoosh his cheeks!!!

    xoxo,
    aunty gypsy

    Reply

  18. Wow. A year already??? How the time flies huh ladies? I have to tell you though, that my heart stopped when I pulled this up and saw the preggo test, LOL. Sorry we havent been around for a while, it’s been complete craziness here. Thinking of you all xxxooo 🙂

    Reply

  19. Posted by docgrumbles on July 13, 2009 at 3:02 am

    great picture!

    yep, time flies much faster when those pee sticks actually show two lines!

    Reply

  20. I can’t tell you how much I love this photo, or how much i love checking your boy out on his everyday baby page. seeing your pictures of your beautiful little one just gives me warm fuzzy feelings, and helps when the nasty BFNs hit! So happy for your beautiful family!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

