When the internets tangle.

I wish I could stop calling/thinking of our son as Bonus Ball IRL.  I know he has a ‘society name’ – as someone aptly put it in the comments the other day – and it is a name I love very much. Hell, it’s a name I chose.

But once a Bonus Ball, always a Bonus Ball.

I’m having to stumble and mutter under my breath and pretend to have forgotten what I was saying when I accidently call him Bonus Ball in the presence of innocent adults, and then grin inanely when they give me funny looks and say, “Oh, I’m tired.”

Any advice, IVPers?  Will this wear off, or is our son doomed for IRL name weirdness?!

xx jay

10 responses to this post.

  1. I don’t know if it will fade, but it’s pretty darn funny! BBIRL!!

    Reply

  2. tis funny… it will always be your nickname for him, and the story of how it came to be exists separate from the internet, so you don’t have to divulge the blog in the telling of it. it was the u/s tech that said it first… and it just stuck. now when he is a bigger fella, there might be a problem cause it embarrasses him, though most mommy’s nicknames do 😉

    Reply

  3. I LOVE IT!!

    Reply

  4. We still call Jo Flipper. He’ll always be our Flipper. Sorry if that’s not the news you wanted… 😉

    Reply

  5. Posted by scarredbellybutton on April 10, 2009 at 12:17 am

    We’ve found it takes a year or so to feel right calling our kids by their names. So TBB literally was the booger boy/boogs for a longgggg time. Still is sometimes at 5yrs but mostly call him by his real name. A lot.

    TTG gets called tiny/tiny guy/tines/goo/boogoo and so on rather than his real name. TBB calls him this as well which is kinda funny.

    Reply

  6. I called our daughter “babygirl” for months. Babies have to grow into their names.

    I actually had a few weeks where I was convinced I had named her the “wrong name” because it just wasn’t clicking, but suddenly she was her name and always will be.

    Bonus ball will fade.

    Reply

  7. We call Peeper all sorts of things, usually derivations of her real name, but sometimes “Peeper.”

    I suspect it will always be one of her nicknames.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Michelle and Jen on April 10, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    I agree with Mulberry. I have a feeling though that bonus ball will definitely be a part of your family’s history because there’s a true story attached to it. It wasnt just something you picked to protect your privacy in IRL. It is a great and unique nickname though 🙂

    Reply

  9. Posted by Co on April 10, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    I suspect you’ll do it less and less over time, but that he may always be your bonus ball. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Well. We called our little Mater, Mater for a while – until one of the nurses at her pediatrician’s office completely screwed up her name in a totally strange way. Completely mixed up all the letters to create a new word entirely – maybe she had dyslexia, who knows, but it was so bizarre, that we starting telling the story to our pals, and in the process, started absentmindedly calling her by a variation of that word (which wasn’t even a name, in the same way, that…say “lamp” isn’t a name). So now, it has stuck, and we’re left calling her something even more strange than “Mater” was to begin with! Ha!

    But in truth, she has several nicknames that her teachers and friends call her (and that she refers to herself, too!) because they are much easier to pronounce. Until her real name becomes one she prefers to her nickname, I’m guessing we’ll still get the occasional staring. It’s cute, and there’s a story behind all these internet names, so we don’t mind 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

