crazy with the busy…

… as our favourite Gypsy would say.  In fact, she just did say it, in an email. Hence the title inspiration. Thanks, Gyps.

So, that’s how we’ve been. Badddd bloggers, I know, so to make up for it, here’s a mega update in bullets:

  • We’ve been to see our new nephew, and were pleased to note that we didn’t break into cold sweats at the thought of it. We looked forward to meeting him, cooed appropriately and enjoyed ourselves.  I (jay) even became transfixed and could not stop staring at the cute wee bundle with his squishy ears. That’s progress, I think.
  • As usual, we’ve had tons of work to do. I know, I know. I bore myself blogging about that. I bored myself this afternoon too, while I wrote an essay which seemed to contain far too much information about too wide a range of subjects. I’m bordering on hysterics about handing in my portfolio before BB is born [cue sardonic laughter], but am mostly calm.
  • While on the subject of calm, I managed to have a mini meltdown yesterday lunchtime about not being able to nest enough and not being able to concentrate on boring essays while I knew we had to transfer BB’s belongings from a disorganised heap to all the right places, and whatever else. Vee was very nice and sympathetic and agreed that it was a good idea for me to take the afternoon off so that I could nest like a madwoman. I felt a lot better afterwards.
  • Vee is the best business partner ever.
  • And wife (!)
  • Vee has been having trouble sleeping, but as luck would have it, cannot manage to lie in, so the poor love is wandering around with heavy eyes. I wish there was something I could do to help!
  • Other than that, vee and BB are doing great. The last time the midwife did her measurements, she said vee was ‘perfect’ and added that BB is ‘not a big baby’, which we were slightly surprised by.
  • Vee just told me she thinks she’s had a couple of Braxton Hicks. EXCITING!
  • We had our birth plan – or as we prefer to call it, birth preferences – meeting with our midwife yesterday. All went well and we feel happy that they’ve taken our preferences into account. Maybe vee will blog about that in more detail later, I don’t know. Personally, I feel reassured that they certainly seem very capable and unfazed by anything. Also, they know I’m a huge hater of blood and have agreed to censor enough details so that I don’t faint or something.
  • The student midwife who came along yesterday was very interested to hear about the birth partners’ massage class that we’re going to in a couple of weeks time, so she’s going to see if she can come along with us!  How cool is that; our own personal midwife companion!
  • Our NCT antenatal teacher is also very interested and wants to come too. My massage lady is very pleased.
  • Our NCT class is now finished – a bit sad about that as it was good. Mulberry, you will be pleased to know that we all told our lovely regular teacher that her colleague is, well, a Breastfeeding Evangelist.  She seemed a bit embarrassed, but it had to be done.
  • Somehow, we volunteered to host our NCT class reunion in May. Nobody else was forthcoming, so now I am having visions of purple faced screaming babies all lined up in our kitchen. Should be fun(!)
  • And yes, we do have a get-out clause. I think everyone else thought we were so crazy to agree, that they agreed to anything we said.
  • Finally, to recover from all of the above and rest ourselves a tad, we are going on a babymoon this weekend. All vee knows is that it’s a long weekend in a nearby city and none of the animals will be accompanying us. The rest of the details are in my head. Woo!
  • I really hope BB is not born until at least Tuesday next week; preferably later.
  • I did not mean to write so many bullet points. If you have read this far, I applaud you!

xx jay

13 responses to this post.

  1. oooh you are a sneaky wife – cant wait to hear of vee’s surprise at the babymoon plans 🙂 and ohh yes, please please get a pic with both of you in it 🙂 i miss your faces!

    hugs to you both, and credit must go to chauceriangirl for the term *crazy with the busy* last year when we were talking about nursing school…

    love you all!
    xoxoxo

    Reply

  2. Nice update! If you don’t post more often, we’re going to think BB came early 😉 But I think Bonus Ball is comfy and is going to stay put a while longer.

    Reply

  3. getting so excited for you guys!!!

    Reply

  4. holy crap is time tickin’!

    Exciting stuff!!!!

    You mentioned in my blog you knew how to re-set the CBE Monitor– are you able to assist me with that, still?

    If you can- THANKS!
    If you can’t- totally understand!

    Casey

    Reply

  5. Posted by wishinghopingpraying on February 17, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    Ack! BB will be here any second. I am so excited for you both 🙂

    Reply

  6. have fun on the babymoon!

    Reply

  7. Posted by reproducinggenius on February 18, 2009 at 1:00 am

    I love the many-bulleted update, especially with bullet items such as those. I can’t wait to hear about the babymoon. Sounds lovely! Enjoy yourselves! xoxo

    Reply

  8. Oh my goodness it’s so soon! But now I can’t find your ticker so I don’t know how soon. Exciting and mysterious.

    Reply

  9. wow! i too am surprised at how close you are. i still read along but rarely comment.

    wanted to wish you so much luck and joy and health for the arrival of your little one.

    so excited for you both at this amazing time.

    hope you get the time and energy to nest like mad ladies!

    Reply

  10. I can’t believe it’s so soon already – I saw your post come up and had a brief moment of ‘omg it’s THAT time already’ lol

    Enjoy your babymoon, and hope everything goes swimmingly! (I love your term birth preferences too)

    Reply

  11. Wow, it’s all coming up so fast. I’m glad you got some nesting done and the babymoon sounds lovely. I hope we’ll get some pictures.

    Reply

  12. Great catch-up. Good golly this is ever coming fast! Much love to you!

    Reply

  13. jealous over here! have a wonderful babymoon!!
    man, BB is going to be here before we know it!!!
    loved the bullets, by the way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

