Heads (briefly) out of the sandI

Well, Jay and I have FINALLY been easing ourselves back into work today after an enormously long break. I recently discovered that I have to use all my annual leave allowance from my employed job (as opposed to the self-employed one that I do from home) before I start my Maternity Leave, because I cannot carry it over to the following year. As the annual leave entitlements are only dished out in September (academic calendar, don’t you know), and I only discovered this fact in November, this left me just over 4 months to take a whole year’s leave! Three weeks off at Christmas sounded like a good start. Anyhow, our home business is officially open again this week and the work is trickling back in, to much sulking and grumpiness on my part. I’ve been enjoying being idle far too much!

I had another flying visit with the midwife again today. Urine – clear; blood pressure – normal; iron levels – spectacular, am I living on liver? (No, I very rarely eat meat – our household is vegetarian). Come back in 3 weeks. Next?

Last weekend, Jay and I finally lifted our heads out of the sand long enough to make a start on the baby’s room. After doing the, “We need to pick up X, Y, Z from so-and-so for the baby.”, “No, we can’t put any more stuff in that room ’til we’ve painted it!”, “Well, when are we going to bloody paint it then?” conversation about 50 million times, I finally cried until Jay gave in and we picked out some paint and got going. Jay insisted on painting the ceiling first, to freshen it up, though it looked ok to me. Cue much trauma, which was only salvaged by a second coat and much forehead soothing. The walls weren’t much better. The colour we had picked out suddenly looked far too dark and it was going on patchy. More tears followed, culminating in a phone call to my dad, who assured us that mixing the paint with the left over white from the ceiling would be ok, even though one was silk and one was matt and they were different brands. He also suggested we use a roller, not the paint pads we had bought, so another trip to the hardware superstore followed. The end result though was better than either of us thought it was going to be. Victory was shortlived though, when my attempts to put up a blackout roller blind hit a snag in the form of a steel joist hiding behind a thin plasterboard exterior where I was expecting to find masonry. Yet more tears and a call to the local handyman resolved that one. We’re taking a break from it before re-entering the fray and tackling any mural painting, curtain and picture hanging or furniture assembling. For now, it remains a room with piles of things in it, albeit a room with a great paint job and a sexy blind.

~~NOW WITH ADDED CRAP PICS~~

mellow-sage1

(It’s kind of this colour, but lighter, due to added white. Sorry – I had such good intentions of photographing it in daylight!)

BB's room, sans flash

BB's room, sans flash

BB's room, avec flash

BB's room, avec flash

18 responses to this post.

  1. Pictures, I want pictures!!!

    Reply

  2. us too!

    Reply

  3. Posted by nutella on January 7, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Aww, sorry for the stress, but I’m sure it looks lovely now? You can feel proud of it!

    Reply

  4. wooo hoo for sexy blinds…

    Reply

  5. Ok, ok, a picture tomorrow, I promise. Of a painted wall. With maybe a sliver of blind. But right now I need to go and watch zombies.

    Reply

  6. hells yes we want photos!

    & oh honey- I SO SO hear you on the weeps. These days I feel as if everything must be done RIGHT FUCKING NOW and if it can’t I loose it. Lovely, right?

    xo

    Reply

  7. Oh! I am with those who want pictures! Those paint pads are bunk.

    Reply

  8. I agree – pictures, please. I like your last belly shot too (I am just catching up on my back log). Sorry for all the tears.

    Reply

  9. We had to have a friend put the blind up….we tried and I cried. And luckily we had friends and family volunteer to put furniture together. Putting together the nursery is a real test for the expectant parents.

    Reply

  10. cant wait for pictures!!!
    love to you all… (out of sorts this last day or so, so this is all the comment you get)

    xoxoxo

    Reply

  11. Posted by docgrumbles on January 8, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    Why does leave always seem to be confusing and not make any sense the way it is set up?

    Good luck with the nursery!

    Reply

  12. ooooh i LOVE that colour… very nice paint job girls!

    Reply

  13. happy new year! lots of energy and good vibes to you two during these next months. xo

    Reply

  14. Hey, I really like the paint. It looks like a very relaxing kind of color huh? Still catching up on reading backwards on your entries, but I think we’re close lol. Hope that Vee is still sans throwing up and boy do the tears sound familiar 😉

    Reply

  15. I love the color. Lovely work, ladies!

    Reply

  16. I am so totally impressed at all your handywork! Tears or not! BB is awfully lucky.

    Reply

  17. oooh i love that colour ladies!!!! good taste!!! xo

    Reply

  18. I really love the color guys… I am sorry there were tears.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

