How could we have forgotten?!

Thanksgiving, of course! We DID do our own special celebration in the end and very pleasant it was too! Behold, photographic evidence:-

1st thanksgiving dinner!

1st thanksgiving dinner!

One each!

One each!

Not sure we were terribly traditional, replacing green beans with Brussels sprouts (possibly the best vegetable ever) and roast thingies instead of turkey (I think they were squash, pumpkin seed and cranberry flavour, so they seemed fitting), but my it was tasty!

I also attempted pumpkin pie for the very first time too:-

vee's pumpkin pie

vee

I’m not sure why that caption is saying only “vee” and not “vee’s pumpkin pie”. Clearly, that’s not me! The pie was impressively puffed when it came out of the oven, but lost height. No matter, it tasted good anyway, if a little odd to our British palates. Normally we feed pumpkin to the pigs, you know? The pumpkin was left over from Hallowe’en; we never got round to carving it. They last an age! I had to do the roasting and pureeing from scratch as I couldn’t find anywhere that sold such a thing as canned pumpkin puree. On reflection, perhaps a pumpkin destined for the table, not the porch would have been better, as this pie tasted quite strongly of, well, pumpkin! Maybe it’s supposed to? Nothing a drop of cream couldn’t solve though:-

pie and cream

pie and cream

I even had a drop of wine to wash it all down with, which was an almost forgotten treat! Delicious, all of it.

We recited our thanks to each other across the table and though I can’t remember every detail, I can safely say I am extremely thankful for my wife and for the new life growing inside of me and that I know jay feels the same.

vee xxx

20 responses to this post.

  1. an impressive spread! i had tacos 😉 always looking to buck the system… and pumpkin pie *is* pumpkin-y and spicy and sweet too… so seems you did well.

    Reply

  2. Nice try. Doesn’t look like traditional Thanksgiving fare to me, but then who am I to talk? My family went for Thanksgiving dinner at a Fish Grotto/Pub. I had salmon, salad, chocolate cake and wine for my Thanksgiving meal. Yes, I do believe Pumpkin Pie is supposed to take very pumpkin-y (and sweet). It may be an acquired taste.

    Reply

  3. What a delicious looking Thanksgiving dinner! And the pie looks great too!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Katie on December 3, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    Don’t worry, the pie isn’t supposed to be puffy! 🙂 I do think that carving pumpkins and pumpkins you eat aren’t necessarily the same kind of pumpkin, but you do what you have to do! BTW, I’m with you on the brussels sprouts…we had them here in the US as well and they were delicious! Never seen corn on the cob for T-day, though…;)

    Reply

  5. oh yum!! you guys did GOOOOOOD!
    afterwards I hope you unbuttoned your pants and placed your hands on your gut and took a nap. At least that is what we do on Thanksgiving.
    xo

    Reply

  6. Good job! I think the most important thing here is that it’s all drowning in gravy – that’s essential for Thanksgiving dinner.

    Here’s a picture of my plate. Mmm, I miss it already.

    Reply

  7. What, no pancakes? 🙂 Yum! Looks great–I agree about the corn on the cob…that is more typical for 4th of July 🙂 The pumpkin pie looks right to me–it is an aquired taste.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Att on December 3, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    Oooh that pie looks nummy. Don’t worry about the pie falling, as all pumpkin pies tend to do that. Ours did when I used condensed milk instead of evaporated.
    No matter what you say, Pumpkin Pie puree is the kicks. You should see if an American can send you a can. Hee!

    Reply

  9. Posted by gypsygrrl on December 3, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    that looks like a yummy thanksgiving dinner!!! you are making me want to post some of my oregon pics… and calliope is right, after dinner is the unbottoning of the pants and patting your very-stuffed bellies and dozing off for a nap…

    thanks for the photo-essay!

    Reply

  10. Um, what did you put on the pie? Like liquid cream? Interesting… I shall have to try that next time… it’s so strange to think that there is not giant piles of canned pumpkin at all of your grocery stores!!

    Reply

  11. That looks delicious. Especially the gravy and the brussels sprouts which I also substitute in my Thanksgiving meals over here (even though every American looks at me weird). It’s the growing up in Ireland that does it. Wow – pumpkin pie from scratch. I’m impressed. Although I can imagine the need for canned pumpkin puree is definitely not needed in Britain. 🙂

    Reply

  12. It looks lovely! I love a vegetarian approach to Thanksgiving. I’m not veggie but like to eat that way. I want the recipe for the roast thingie if you have it.

    Reply

  13. Posted by reproducinggenius on December 4, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    That looks like a fantastic first Thanksgiving. You know, we have done brussels sprouts for ages instead of greenbeans. Love them.

    Pumpkin pie should taste a bit like pumpkin, but a pumpkin suited for pies is usually a bit sweeter and less overwhelming with the pumpkin aroma.

    Reply

  14. Mmm. We have the sprouts on thanksgiving too!

    Reply

  15. Now I am very very hungry. AND craving pumpkin pie. Crap!

    Reply

  16. That looks delicious!!! I’m surprised that so many people done have corn with Thanksgiving dinner. We’ve had it with Thanksgiving since I was a kid. Either on the cob, or scalloped corn, which is delicious. I’m impressed. Maybe we’ll have to all get tickets to next years British Thanksgiving Feast, huh???? 🙂 The pie looks just like pumpkin pies are supposed to. I think we’re all really impressed that you did it from scratch. So glad you got to enjoy a new holiday 🙂

    Reply

  17. Posted by boombababy on December 5, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    OMG that looks so good!

    Reply

  18. it all looks beautiful and delicious!
    good work.

    Reply

  19. Posted by yup, another sara on December 6, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    Wow! You certainly had to do a lot of work with that pumpkin! Everything looks great, though!

    Reply

  20. Posted by scarredbellybutton on December 8, 2008 at 7:02 am

    Brussel sprouts ewwwwww!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

