Let’s talk tits…

Before we get onto the juicy stuff though, jay asked me to draw attention to the beautiful header that Cali made for us, to compare it to the reality of our view, as illustrated in our last post, then ask you to wonder at the marvellous imagination of the woman, to have come up with something so accurate without ever having seen said photo, or similar. Remarkable! ETA – weirdly, she’s just commented on that very fact before I had the chance to publish this!

Also, thanks for the kitty advice. And for the sympathy actually. I’m so glad it’s not just me who finds them confusing. Travelher, you made me laugh – so you get cats, but only when you’ve conditioned them to behave like dogs? Sounds like a cunning plan to me; I wonder if it’s too late for our two? Anyhow, both cats are neutered males. We assumed the sprayer (who was a stray…ish) wasn’t, but we’re assured by the vet that he is. We’ve had a Feliway diffuser for a while, which, if I’m honest, just seems like an expensive and scentless plug-in room freshener (probably stocked right next to the chocolate frying pans). I’m heartened to hear that the Feliway spray has met with success for some of you though and we’ll try that next. Rhetorician, is that the stuff you were talking about too? I guess we should be more fierce about stopping the food guarding too. They do have separate food areas, but the fat cat seems delighted to munch from both and then guard his stolen spoils – not good, right?

Right! Enough cat talk and on to more pressing matters. Tits. Mine in particular. I would really like to give breastfeeding my best shot, but I’m starting to worry about whether my nipples are going to cause a problem. I’ve never qualified for the peanut smuggling look, even in cold weather and since getting pregnant my fairly flat nipples are proving even more shy. The right one in particular seems to be withdrawing into itself. I’ve had a bit of a read round Teh Internets and it seems that, given that they can and do rise to the occasion if pressed to do so, I should be OK, but I’m wondering if I should try those breast shell thingies or dedicate some time to some Hoffman’s massage. Has anyone tried them? Do they make any difference, or not? Should I just leave well alone? The midwife told me not to worry about it, but it keeps popping back into my head.

vee xxx

9 responses to this post.

  1. I say leave it! I think all types of women with all types of nipples breastfeed! Having said that I was reading something about toughening up nipples and laughed at how I might have a word with mine like….right feed the baby or else!?!!! So Im with you on the old nipple worries!!!!! xx

    I love the carpet…Im sure having soft carpets under feet make me happy! And yours looks lovely!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Katie on November 26, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    Vee, I have the same problem. I have a 10 YO daughter and I wore the breast shells for most of my last trimester. Even so, I still had some trouble nursing initially, though that may not have been why…my DD might just have been a little slow on the uptake. Good news is that she finally figured it out and she nursed for 13 months, so it was really just a matter of persistence, and seeing the lactation consultant when needed. Oh, and after nursing successfully for a while, the nips were much more, um, perky.
    I’m having #2 next week, and I haven’t really bothered with the shells this time… I think I’ve worn them maybe 2 or 3 times. I did buy this little gadget made by Lansinoh called Latch Assist, which is like a tiny little turkey baster type thing that is supposed to help pop the nips out before you nurse. It was cheap and I thought it was worth a try. But now that I know it can work with some determination, I am less worried about it. Good luck!

    Reply

  3. Posted by rhetorician on November 26, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    hey – it’s called Four Paws Stain and Odor Remover (industrial strength!), and you dilute it and apply to, um, pissed on area. It doesn’t smell very nice, but it stops them going back and it’s really worked. It wasn’t particularly cheap but lasts a long time.

    Can’t help you on the tits question, but it does seem from friends that (a) pointy ones are easier and (b) it can be quite tough at first, so you need to line up lots of support for the early days (hours, even).

    Reply

  4. pardon the forwardness of my suggestion… but perhaps you could get jay’s help to prepare them and get a wee bit of enjoyment out of it 😉

    Reply

  5. I have huge boobs, but always had flat flat nipples. Even when cold they were very very rarely hard prior to Bliss. I worried and looked into the shells until my midwife said no worries they will come out just fine. They did, and my nipples, which were also always smallish (huge aureoles, huge boobs, small nips) ended up growing quite a bit, for me, with breast feeding, Now they seem more proportional if that word can even be used with my gigantic things.

    I would not worry much, milk is powerful stuff and does tend to fix them right up. At least in my experience of it.

    Good Luck!!!

    Reply

  6. ooh a question i can answer as a future-nurse 🙂
    nips will be fine… so long as they *ahem* react when they are called upon, you will be fine to BF ~ no need for the shields or anything, tho you and BB will just have to get used to things and dont hesitate to get help with the lactation consultant.

    that is AMAZING how cali’s header matched your view – sight unseen. that cali is amazing…

    love ya’ll… and hey ~ isnt it time for another belly shot??? 🙂 do it for a sick gypsy…

    xoxoxo

    Reply

  7. Mine were semi inverted and I worried, too. Totally fine. Never used shields because I was worried about needing them and I am all about no props if possible. Like things to be quick and easy. Nothing about breastfeeding was quick or easy, mind you – do remember that it will most likely hurt a lot. People will say that if you get the latch right it won’t hurt and that may be true but I have yet to meet a woman who doesn’t, at some point, feed with a crappy latch (3am, delirious with fatigue, baby latches in a half-assed way and you let them eat because you are too tired to deal) and you therefore end up hurting and hurting. This does not mean anything is wrong or that it won’t work out. I really feel like that piece of advice is missing from lac. consultants – if you just tell people it’s not supposed to hurt, they are going to be concerned when it hurts. Better, in my opinion, to point out that it hurts and that it gets better and is SO worth it. That was more than you asked but there you go. My nipples are perkier now, too.

    Reply

  8. Posted by M.Z. on November 28, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Never posted before, delurking here.
    But check out La Leche League if you haven’t yet for breastfeeding support.
    And you don’t need nipple shells or shields in all liklihood.
    Best of luck with your new baby to both of you!

    Reply

  9. I could have the same problem with my tits, so interested to hear what you do and if it works.

    About the cat whisperer…yeah, I hadn’t looked at it that way before. I sound a little crazy. But I love cats, all of them, but of course I love my cat-dogs the best!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

