Stolen meme

I saved this meme in my bloglines account, from Snarky Bitch. I knew it would come in useful for something! I hereby tag anyone else who is struggling to think of anything to post for NaBloPoMoFo. Following on from yesterday’s post, here’s a Dialect Meme.

1. A body of water, smaller than a river, contained within relatively narrow banks.

A stream, a beck, a burn, a brook. (These are the terms used in our areas of upbringing and in our more recent places of abode.)

2. What’s the thing you push around the grocery store called.

A shopping trolley.

3. A container to carry a meal in.

A lunch box. (The meal inside is referred to by jay’s family as “pieces” or “a pack up”.)

4. The thing that you cook bacon and eggs in.

A frying pan.

5. The piece of furniture that seats three people.

A sofa.

6. The device on the outside of the house that carries rain off the roof.

Guttering and drain pipes.

7. The covered area outside a house where people sit in the evening.

Ha! We don’t have those here – no room. Maybe a verandah?

8. Carbonated, sweetened, non-alcoholic beverages.

Fizzy pop.

9. A flat, round breakfast food served with syrup.

Pancake. But seriously? For breakfast? We only eat pancakes on Shrove Tuesday (Pancake Day).

10. A long sandwich designed to be a whole meal in itself.

 A filled baguette.

11. The piece of clothing worn by men at the beach.

Swimming trunks.

12. Shoes worn for sports.

Trainers.

13. Putting a room in order.

Tidying up.

14. A flying insect that glows in the dark.

We don’t have those either. Um…firefly?

15. Little insects that curls up into a ball.

Woodlice, pill bugs or cheese logs.

16. The children’s playground equipment where one kid sits on one side and goes up while the other sits on the other side and goes down.

See-saw.

17. How do you eat your pizza?

With a knife and fork.

18. What’s it called when private citizens put up signs and sell their used stuff?

How very un-British! I’d say we Brits usually give our unwanted stuff to the local jumble sale or school fete, or sell it on e-bay.

19. What’s the evening meal?

Dinner. Or tea. Or if you’re really posh – supper.

20. The thing under a house where the furnace and perhaps a rec room are?

The cellar. They’re usually dank and musty here though, but ok for keeping wine in.

21. What do you call the thing that you can get water out of to drink in public places?

Water fountain.

13 responses to this post.

  1. I’m loving all your English versus American (language) posts. My husband is English but I am American and after 8 years together, we are still uncovering differences in the way we speak. My favorite British phrase of all time is “Don’t have a go!” I use it several times a day – I’ve had to become a defensive person just so I can throw it into conversation more. It still cracks me up. I also giggle every time I hear “rubbish bin” for some reason. It’s “garbage can” for god’s sake!

    Reply

  2. Nooooo, it’s rubbish bin! I’m not having a go, innit!

    Reply

  3. As a filthy American, I’m totally amused at your answers.

    17. How do you eat your pizza?
    With a knife and fork.

    We went to England last year and stopped into a fancy pizza place. We began eating our pizza the way Americans do, folding it with our hands and chowing down. It wasn’t until Nutella told me to look around that I noticed everyone was eating with a fork and knife. When in Rome… so I picked up my utensils and ate it that way. I didn’t want to look so…barbarian 😉

    Reply

  4. Fizzy pop? A filled baguette? Pizza with a knife and fork?! Madness.

    Reply

  5. Thanks for the fun posts!
    Pancakes once a year?!?!? What do people eat after midnight at a diner after a night of drinking?

    (I’m totally thinking I should change my blogname to momandfizzypop.com)

    Reply

  6. I’m so shocked by the lack of pancakes that I’m speechless…..

    Reply

  7. Sarah soda: “What do people eat after midnight at a diner after a night of drinking?”

    Firstly, we don’t really have diners – we have takeaways. British males tend to stagger to the nearest kebab shop and have one of those, or quite often a curry. The more civilised of us (often the women!) just have chips. Or if you’re at home/a student/vee, you would probably have toast.

    Reply

  8. if you wanted pancakes more than once a year could you get them somewhere or make them?

    pancakes are the food that initiate my biggest cravings. sometimes i will wake craving pancakes, but do not get around to making them or snatching a couple from a greasy spoon for days, but the craving remains until I get my fix:)

    speaking of breakfast food, you all do not have greasy spoons at all?

    Reply

  9. Yes we have plenty of greasy spoons – fear not! And yes, we can make or get pancakes… we just don’t eat them nearly as much as you Americans seem to, is all.

    Reply

  10. Posted by rhetorician on November 18, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    I live in Ireland where the things you put on your feet to go running are called, unsurprisingly enough, runners. As in, where are my runners? Lots more scope for Irish variations on this too – a cupboard is a press (not a closet), if you can’t remember the name for something (in English English usually ‘the thing/thingy/thingummy’) is a yoke – as in where the yoke that you take the air out of the radiators with?

    Reply

  11. Posted by svillage on November 18, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    This is fun to read! Thanks!

    Reply

  12. […] i stole this meme from vee & jay earlier this week, which was inspired by some of vee’s musings on different dialects with […]

    Reply

  13. […] back home, settling in for a non-lesbian DVD, but first, I needed to blog!  That’s when Vee’s stolen dialect meme comes to the rescue!  Thanks […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

