appointments and freebies

I had an appointment with the midwife today. A midwife, anyway – they work as a team and I hadn’t met this one before. It was somewhat disconcerting to find she was so much younger than me, but I guess that shouldn’t be any great surprise. Anyway, she was very nice and chatty and put-you-at-your-ease-y. She checked my blood pressure (good), my urine (fine) and looked back at my blood test results from 12 weeks, which were all fine, with the noteable exception of my iron levels, which were “excellent” apparently. Jay’s taking all credit for that one – she sneaks green leafy vegetables into every meal she can! Bonus Ball was loud and clear on the doppler and all was well, thank you very much, see you at 28 weeks. I was vaguely interested to know how much weight I had gained thus far, as we don’t have scales at home, but she had no plans to weigh me and I wasn’t THAT interested.

In other news, I’ve been busy freaking jay out a little this week by bagging baby items on Freecycle and dragging my haul back to the house in dribs and drabs. What can I say? I’m a girl that loves one thing better than a bargain and that’s something for nothing. We’re now the proud owners of some pre-loved terry nappies, a nappy bin, a breast pump (is that really gross?) AND a moses basket, complete with stand!

vee xxx

7 responses to this post.

  1. the breast pump makers claim (and write warnings all over the pump and pump materials) that they are single use items. but at $300 a pop, of course they’d like everyone to buy their own. you can easily buy your own tubing, breast shields, and other doomahickies.

    hooray for a healthy bonus ball!

    Reply

  2. glad to know you are healthy and that jay is making you eat your veggies!!! πŸ™‚

    freecycle rocks!
    xoxoxo

    Reply

  3. Posted by hatchling on November 12, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    glad it all went well, yay for freecycle.. i don’t think your second hand breastpump is gross, i had to get over those hangups when i procured our (free) second-hand fertility lens πŸ™‚ xx x x.

    Reply

  4. We have centers out here called Day One who RENT pumps, so it cant be that bad huh? I want to check out this Freecycle thing. We’ve been watching Craigslist for the rich areas and getting literally brand new Pottery Barn baby furniture for next to nothing. Gotta put more money into the college account, right??? πŸ™‚ Glad to hear that Jay’s sneaking veggies into your food. Gotta eat that green! xxoo

    Reply

  5. I really don’t think it’s gross. I think it’s sensible.

    I am lately obsessed with escarole soup. Yum.

    Reply

  6. Posted by reproducinggenius on November 14, 2008 at 12:29 am

    Freecycle is wonderful. It’s the best bargain anywhere!

    I’m glad to hear that you and BB are healthy!

    Reply

  7. Second hand breast pumps ROCK!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

