Bigfoot?

Today, jay tempted me into splashing out on a beautiful new pair of boots, ready for the winter. They’re comfy and cosy and warm and they look divine. I LOVE getting new footwear.

When we got home, I sat down to read a little from one of the pregnancy books I’m wading my way through and discovered to my horror that it’s not uncommon for a pregnant woman’s feet to grow during pregnancy and, not only that, it’s not uncommon for the aforementioned feet to stay grown after the baby is born!

How could I not have know this?

Please don’t tell me my lovely boots will be getting shelved, possibly for good, within a few months. Did any of you reading who have been through pregnancy end up with bigger feet at the end of it all?

*sigh*

vee xxx

25 responses to this post.

  1. YES, I would return the boots and wait a bit. My feet went up a full size ad width during pregnancy, then after giving birth they went back only a half size. There are shoes I have never been able to wear again which is soooo sad.

    They say it can happen with each pregnancy which I am hoping not because I do not want to gain another half size, I already have boats for feet.

    Reply

  2. yup– sorry to say, I went up 1.5 sizes. And they never went back. But if it makes you feel better my neighbor told me she never had that problem, and she was preggo twice… I don;t know what to tell you about the boots. I would probably return them…

    Reply

  3. My grandmother claimed that her feet gained (and kept) a half-size with each of her three pregnancies.

    Reply

  4. This is one of my bigger pregnancy fears. I already wear a US Size 10 in Women’s (I think that’s a UK Size 8), and I have a difficult time finding shoes as it is. If I go up another size, I might have to start special ordering.

    My older sister went from a US 8 to a 9 1/2 (though if you ask me, she was squeezing herself into an 8 in the first place).

    Reply

  5. My feet did not get bigger at all.

    It’s a tough call. Some do, some don’t. I feel your pain!

    Reply

  6. During pregnancy, my feet BALLOONED. And I was convinced all was lost; I’d have to purchase all new shoes. During the last tri, I had to put my clogs on the very last buckle hole and my feet would still swell up & over. BUT. To my utter surprise & delight, I’m now able to easily wear my old shoes on their old settings. So, it is possible that your big feet might just be a pregnancy thing.

    Reply

  7. um…not to compare foot sadness or anything- but this news is FREAKING me out. Um. You see I am normally a size 12 shoe and have a horrible time finding cute shoes. Now I am totally doomed…
    guess this is why gals end up barefoot & pregnant.
    xo

    Reply

  8. I had to buy shoes this week for a wedding we are attending and I had to buy a 1/2 size bigger than normal. I don’t know if this is because my feet are slightly swollen, or if they are growing.
    I’m a little nervous about this too.

    Reply

  9. Oh yeah! I went from a 8 to a 10. And I think they got wider as well. 😉

    Reply

  10. Posted by heather on September 22, 2008 at 1:44 am

    Mine have always went back down after giving birth. So I guess it just on the person. Everyone is different just as every pregnancy is different.

    Reply

  11. i DID NOT get bigger feet sadly because as a size 6.5, it would have been nice. my feet did swell so birkenstocks were the only comfortable shoe for me while pregnant but my feet are definitely back to their normal size. good luck!!

    Reply

  12. i got beautiful campers for my birthday when i wa five months preggers with piggy, i wore them very few times and they are in my cupboard very new looking. i reckon my foot grew a size..and now they are a size bigger than campers biggest size=no more campers for me.
    i hate shoes because now, thanks to pregnancy my feet are too big for cute shoes.

    Reply

  13. I’ve heard a lot about feet growing with each pregnancy, once size per birth. I don’t know if it’s true for ALL pregnant women, but you’ll kind of know when your feet start swelling. I hope not, for the sake of lovely boots.

    Reply

  14. i can’t tell if my feet are bigger or they are just too swollen to fit anything but 1 solitary pair of birken.stocks which amber altered last week by adding a new hole and making the larger…

    Reply

  15. If it is any consolation, my feet neither grew nor swelled up much. That said, I was rather hoping to need to buy a whole new set of footwear.

    Reply

  16. yes. my feet have grown! AND, when they are swollen it’s even worse. the only footwear i’ve been able to wear my entire pregnancy (so far) has been FLIP-FLOPS. i tried on my high heels and they felt 2 sizes too small. hope that you don’t have to shelve those boots! xo

    Reply

  17. Ha! I didn’t know this one. My cousin’s super curly hair did go straight, though.

    Reply

  18. Posted by Tracey on September 22, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    While I only had mild swelling during my pregnancy, my feet are now 1/2 size bigger than there once were!

    Reply

  19. Oh yeah, I’ve heard about this one and it has kept me from buying all but 2 pairs of shoes for the past year….I have so many shoes…I really hope it doesn’t happen. I’d probably take the boots back for now.

    Reply

  20. I gained a whole half a size and a little width. And I’m with Melody, it’s not great. I already wore a US 10. So now, I do have to order a lot of shoes special order or in men’s 9 😦

    Reply

  21. Posted by Kris on September 23, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    With my first pregnancy my feet did grow a half size, but with subsequent pregnancies they stayed that size and didn’t get any bigger.

    Reply

  22. It totally seems to depend on the person. Some go down afterward and some stay big. Mine seem a bit bigger. I was up a size while pg, now more like half but most shoes finally fit again (it took at least 6-9 months postpartum to even approach some of my shoes). I squeezed into a pair of Camper flats and got blisters yesterday and I don’t remember having that problem before. Fancy shoes like heels seem totally out of the question as the width stayed a bit bigger. I will have to shop again someday when we have money.

    I was also pg in summer and had no ankles at all and could only wear flipflops. It was truly revolting. I should have taken photos of my feet. They were like a horror movie.

    Reply

  23. It seems to vary. My shoe size is not different now. Toward the end of my pregnancy, I had some swelling, especially in my feet and ankles, so yeah, my shoes didn’t fit then. But not every pregnant woman has a lot of swelling either. You’ll just have to see how it plays out, I guess. It may not change for you.

    Reply

  24. Bri describes my pregnant feet perfectly–in the end, I was only wearing flip flops. I can squeeze into most of my shoes now, but alas, not my favorite ones.

    Reply

  25. Yes! I went up a size and I swear my feet are wider too (and they weren’t too skinny to begin with!) Argh!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

