A ticker? Jeesh.

Yup. We have a ticker – partly because everyone else is doing it so why shouldn’t we? – but mainly because we of the sieve brains (one pregnant and one pseudo-pregnant; more on that another day) can’t for the lives of ourselves remember anything. So it is kind of like a calendar for us.

Of course, vee managed to find The Perfect Ticker the other night, then panicked at the very idea of it, and lost it all over again. Much G00gling and surfing later, she found it again, so it can be seen on our special new preggo page*, along with other things that I admit have driven me away from other blogs before**. There are only so many belly shots and shit that people can take sometimes, so ours are all safely one click away, if you are so inclined. If you’re not, don’t click.

In other news, does anyone know if muesli (granola ,whatever) has evil foetus-crunching tendencies? Vee eats it for breakfast every morning and afterwards she gets weird, griping pains at the top of her stomach, stabbing her unrelentingly for a few minutes. This morning we started The Great Toast Experiment, where she ate toast instead, and the pain did not come. Does this mean that vee has to stop eating her beloved home-made muesli and join me in toastdom, or should she experiment further by eliminating ingredients one by one? Gawd, who knew breakfast could be so complicated?

* Oh. My. God.

** No offence meant, so I do hope none will be taken!

22 responses to this post.

  1. I think the preggo page is *perfect*! Such a good solution. And I’m off to look at it – because I’m SO EXCITED for y’all.
    As for breakfast, don’t both of you have weird things about how your toast is made? Good luck with that, I say.

    Reply

  2. I am NOT weird about toast! It’s her. Not me. No weirdness from me! πŸ˜›

    Reply

  3. I love you a lot for putting up the preggo page. You can bet I’ll be clicking on that page all the time because I am loving following your hard-won pregnancy, but won’t get blindsided when I’m in Darksville, Population Everyone’s-Pregnant-But-Me.

    So smart and thoughtful !

    Reply

  4. The preggo page is fantastic. πŸ˜€

    What’s this about weird with toast?

    Reply

  5. Ok, at the risk of humiliating myself all over again, you can find details of my toast weirdness here:- https://veeandjay.wordpress.com/2008/01/25/the-toast-post-and-other-news/

    Reply

  6. I eat muesli (I LOVE CALLING IT THAT) 2-3 times/week and have had no fetus crushing incidents to date. There was about a week when I could not eat our canola/butter spread, though, because I tasted fish for hours afterwards. Fish oil is not listed in the ingredients, but I am still suspicious.

    Reply

  7. Posted by boombababy on July 31, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Hi. coming out of lurk to say CONGRATS !!!! and LOVE the preggo page πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. Posted by gypsygrrl on July 31, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    LOVE. THAT. TICKER!!!!!!!!!!

    and you both are freakin’ brilliant with the preggo page… the BB has such smart mamas…

    love you both…(off to re-read the toast post)
    xoxoxoxoxoxo, gypsy

    (extra xo’s cuz there are 3 of you now…)

    Reply

  9. I love your ticker! It helps me keep track of where you 2 are πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. for what it is worth, i say give the muesli a small break and then start it back up. i’ve never been anywhere near pregnant but i do eat the same kinds of things for breakfast for days on end and when i overdo the granola i get fiber pains in my gut…
    do not know if they are the same kind of pains but a small break might really help.

    like your ticker page just fine!
    xo

    Reply

  11. I love the preggo page – a fabulous idea. I don’t know anything about the effects of granola on a fetus, but I’d guess it’s just not sitting right because of one or two ingredients. You could try cutting things out to try to isolate the offender. Also, try eating the granola at a different time of day and see if it still hurts…

    Reply

  12. Posted by Att on July 31, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    FYI, the preggo page is EXACTLY what I intended doing when, or if, we ever have need for one. Mostly because, when one has SO many pregnant couples on their blogroll, occasionally the preggo inundation is great jealousy making. I love the idea, and am going to copy it to my fullest extent. Haha!

    Also, I agree with The Injector. Take a break, the extra fiber could very well be the ghost behind the pains. It probably just started up because of the huge change the body goes through during the first months of pregnancy.

    Reply

  13. Yeah for a ticker!!! I’ll be clicking over the the Preggo page often to watch it tick away!

    Reply

  14. Posted by yup, another sara on July 31, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    I think the Preggo page is a great idea– you are both awesome for thinking of it! I agree with the commenters above– maybe take a break or try it at a different time of day to see if that helps.

    Reply

  15. The Preggo Page rocks!!! You two are the best.

    Reply

  16. I love the preggo page!! So exciting.

    Reply

  17. I think toast is just easier to digest – Muesli is full of fiber – and digestion certainly is more difficult during pregnancy.

    Reply

  18. Hi Ladies! My partner and I are 12 1/2 wks pregnant and have hopefully an answer to your muesli/granola question….I was having issues with similar fiber filled food. Our OB told us that at certain points of your pregnancy, your digestion slows down. Obviously the most at the beginning. So even things that used to get easily digested, can now be harder for the tummy to digest, making everything work harder and give you incredible gas pains. Of course, I would always check with your OB first, but this is what we went through. I switched to Cascadian multi-grain squares for a little bit and then will try granola again soon. Hope this helps πŸ™‚ Michelle and Jen
    http://martkeet89.livejournal.com

    Reply

  19. I was just going to second those who said that the first tri can do strange things to your stomach, as well as to your relationship with food. Between your metabolism going nuts and morning sickness and how strongly things smell… it can make things a bit nutty. One of the few things I truly craved during my first tri was nuts. I really wanted them, but had a hard time actually getting them down… not keeping them down, actually getting them to pass through my throat. It was weird. I can’t explain it. But I think that difficulty eating foods you used to love and new food aversions and weird cravings are all just part of the package. Maybe lay off the muesli for a bit and trial it again later…

    Love the new page. And hurray for a ticker! You amazing ladies so deserve a ticker!!!!

    Reply

  20. You are so sensitive and so sweet. I love that you put up a pregnancy page for folks like me, but I will be visiting because I am so inspired and oh so happy for you. You deserve it. xo

    Reply

  21. I’ve been in breastfeeding no-blogs-land for a while and haven’t checked my bloglines. I just have to say that I’m nearly in tears that you have a ticker and a pregnancy page and questions about how cereal can effect one’s fetus. I am still so happy for you! XXOo

    Reply

  22. Posted by shanny3296 on August 7, 2008 at 1:36 am

    First time reader of your blog and I must say I love it! I added it to my blogroll. Ive just started a blog myself. I hope it can be as entertaining as yours. P.S Congrats on the lil one on the way. Its a great experience and very much so worth the wait.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

