No numbers…

…but we did get a “yes”.

Our clinic only do qualitative betas, for some reason, so I’ve been thwarted in my desire to obsess over beta numbers, but the blood test came back positive and now we’ve heard someone else utter the words “Congratulations, it’s positive, you’re pregnant!” it feels a little more real. The shine was taken off this somewhat by the nurse who reminded us twice that they’ll be “much happier” once we’ve had a scan and they’ve seen the heartbeat. Lady, you have no idea how much I would love to make you much happier.

As I think I said before, we could have just called in the pee stick results, but going for the blood test just felt like the right thing to do, even with the 5am alarm call and the 3 hour car journey. Aside from making a couple of nurses squee in excitement, it has settled our nerves a little as we hunker down for the next wait – the wait for our first scan on 28th July.

That seems so far away.

vee xxx

ETA – And yes, we are still carrying the pee sticks around with us everywhere we go (lucky we have so many). You want to make something of it? Who you calling weird?

25 responses to this post.

  1. Is that a pee-stick in your pocket or are you just happy to see me?
    July 28th isn’t too far away.

    Reply

  2. not carrying around the pee-sticks! congrats again ladies! now, now it’s super official!! we need a ticker!!

    Reply

  3. Yes!

    The concentration of HCG must be high enough that they’re not worried about it. Otherwise surely they’d make you do another one.

    Sucks how the nervous waiting never ends, doesn’t it? I can’t wait to see your first u/s.

    Reply

  4. I carried our sticks around for weeks, just to believe it was real. Congrats on the positive qualitative beta!! yay!! I’m already looking forward to July 28th for you!

    I’m just still so excited for the two of you – something in blogland has changed. It feels more complete out here. Congrats again and again and AGAIN!!!

    Reply

  5. i took about one pee test a week until our first scan which we didn’t get till 7 weeks!! Still I don’t think I can say it enough I am so excited for you three (or four)!

    Reply

  6. echoes of everyone else’s “i am so excited for you both…”

    oooh it is fun being an IVP auntie!!! (tho it would be more fun if i was just around the corner and could offer real babysitting coupons that dont involve a passport and customs. HAHA!

    love you both!!!
    xo,
    g

    Reply

  7. Posted by tbean on July 7, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    Someone in the medical establishment agrees that you really are pregnant?!?!?!? YAY!!!

    I’ll count down to the scan with ya!

    Reply

  8. I STILL have my pee sticks, stored in a plastic baggie. By nature, I’m a pack rat & somehow they just seemed to significant to toss. No shame in that at all, I think 😉

    Yay, yay, yay that there is now an “official” YES!

    Reply

  9. I make pee sticks into christmas ornaments. lol

    Reply

  10. Our first scan was at 7 1/2 weeks. I know it’s a hard wait, but I’m sure they feel confident that everything is fine. It’s nice to hear an “official” yes, isn’t it???

    Ps. I don’t think it’s odd at all. I had about 4 pee sticks….and then I got all paranoid that they’d start smelling. I don’t know.

    Reply

  11. Posted by reproducinggenius on July 7, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    The official word is wonderful. I hope the next couple of weeks fly by!

    Reply

  12. Posted by K on July 7, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    Woo Hooooooo! I’m sorry you don’t get numbers to obsess over, but hopefully you have plenty of tests to keep your spirits warm for the next few weeks. 🙂 I’ll be waiting anxiously for your precious scan right along with you!

    Reply

  13. I never got beta numbers…and now I’m thankful, I didn’t anything else to obsess over. 🙂
    Pee sticks are enough. 🙂
    Congrats again!!

    Reply

  14. Posted by yup, another sara on July 7, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    I think that in a lot of ways, the betas just make you more anxious than you need to be. I have carried around many pee sticks (including just OPKs), so I will not be casting any blame from here. Here’s to the 28th!

    Reply

  15. I’m sorry you didn’t get a number to obsess over. But if they were only going to do one beta before the scan, I guess there is no point in having a number.

    But, yeah, isn’t it great to get that “congratulations”? From someone other than an object you just peed on?

    Congratulations again.

    Reply

  16. Woo Hoo! Nothing like squeeeing medical professionals to make it feel real, huh girlies?

    Congratulations.

    Reply

  17. hooooooooooooray! i’m SO happy for you

    Reply

  18. Yes! You deserve the ‘yes’. Congrats. I am sooo very happy for you.xo

    Reply

  19. Posted by G on July 8, 2008 at 4:07 am

    YAHOOOOOO! It’s nice to hear it from someone more “official” than the pee-sticks. Congratulations ladies.

    Reply

  20. Woohoo there’s nothing like a bit of establishment comfirmation!

    Also, can’t help picturing you handing out peesticks to folks in need (like those that carry around plasters lol)

    Reply

  21. I think I haven’t commented yet. I’ve been meaning to. I’ve been thinking of you both every day! I still can’t believe it!! Hopefully this will be the cycle for us too. So our babies can be nearly the same age!!

    I am really so so so happy for you.

    Reply

  22. officially cartwheeling!
    (even though I have been doing it UNofficially for days now)

    Reply

  23. yes, yes, and yes. I think I would be carrying arround the pee sticks too so no judgment from me. I am so happy for you both. xoxo!

    Reply

  24. Well, I certainly have no right to judge pee stick madness!

    I hope you make the clinic staff very happy!

    Reply

  25. Oh, WOW!!!! I’ve only just seen this…

    We still have our pee sticks!!

    SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO EXCITED!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

