Doctor’s Orders

In the UK, the word of the men (and women) in white coats is pretty much taken as gospel. It’s only through the IVP window that I’ve seen the alternative of well informed patients discussing things with their doctors and coming to a joint agreement on a course of treatment. A welcome eye opener.

Nowhere is this British attitude more evident than on UK based message boards, where posters are constantly exhorted NOT to test early, but to wait until the official test day their doctor has set them.

My official test day is 7th July. A full 19 days after egg retrieval and 17 days after transfer. WHAT?! Chances of me waiting that long? Zero. I’d expect my period (if it’s coming) by the 1st or 2nd, so if we make it that far, I may crack open that test.

And it WILL be an HPT. Our clinic does not offer betas, though they will do a blood test for pregnancy if we wish to drive a two hour round trip to get it then wait for the call.

The other thing my doctor has advised is no “sexual intercourse” until the outcome of treatment is known. How British not to go into more detail. What exactly is the problem? Penetration? Orgasm? The bumping of swollen ovaries? I don’t really know what to think about that one. Do you?

vee xxx

16 responses to this post.

  1. July 7th?!?! no WAY are we letting you wait that long!

    I was told to not orgasm during my tww – I think the less fluttering of your internal female bits the better. But I think that really only applies to women doing stims/IVF.

    still laughing over the 7th. AS IF!

    Reply

  2. Posted by theclitremedy on June 23, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Really, really excited for you two (a lurker here) – sending another little piece of IVP goodness your way!

    17 day 2WW….uh, I don’t think so.

    Reply

  3. I’ve been told that orgasm can thin the uterine lining, but that could be a bunch of hooey.

    I had to wait until 19 days post retrieval for a beta after Vanessa’s IVF. Bunch o crap.

    Reply

  4. The “special instructions” section of my discharge papers read: “Intercourse may be resumed after 2 weeks.” Talk about lack of detail! Mine doesn’t even say sexual!

    I have heard similar reasons about avoiding orgasm and being gentle with swollen ovaries. I’m still so uncomfortable, sex is the last thing on my mind, but I’m on another board where a woman “accidentally” had sex with her husband 2 days post-retrieval (oops), so I guess the instructions are for people like her.

    I’m withholding my outrage about your (seemingly insane) test date until my clinic gives me mine in a couple of hours, but I will tell you that if they say anything comparable, I will be joining you on the early testing bandwagon for sure!

    Reply

  5. My clinic also says no sex or orgasm until after beta, but my clinic does the beta 10 days after 3 day transfer and 8 days after 5 day transfer.
    I still test beforehand.

    Sending lots of love.

    Reply

  6. i think deep and forceful penetration may be a little much for ivf. but sterotypical lesbian sex should be fine, no?

    yeah, waiting 19 days is a bit of a waste of time. but i guess if you have to wait THAT long, then you must be with child.

    best wishes with the waiting!

    Reply

  7. Posted by tbean on June 23, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    19 days? hahahahahaha….

    How about 9??? That’s more like it.

    Reply

  8. I join the other commenters in shock over waiting 19 days. Testing when your period’s due makes a whole lot more sense. And that’s just over a week away! I’m so excited for you!

    Reply

  9. 19 days.
    HA. Ha ha ha. HA.

    Reply

  10. Hmm, my post-transfer orders said to “avoid intercourse or orgasm for a few days.”

    Um yeah, that’s helpfully vague, as well.

    I read elsewhere on the internet that some docs advise waiting til you see a heartbeat at 6 weeks.

    (Yes, I’m sure that’s excessive, but I was so freaked out about the prospect of jostling things around in there, I doubt I’d have been much good for it if we’d tried.)

    On the other hand, the same article said that there was some evidence that sex the night *before* transfer could be helpful.

    I don’t know what the science is behind that (a happy uterus is a welcoming uterus?) but it seems to have worked for us đŸ˜‰

    Reply

  11. God after reading all of these comments I don’t know if I should have more sex or less!

    19 days is clearly insane.

    Reply

  12. Not sure about the idea of not having sex…never heard of such a thing.
    And 19 days is insane, really? Do they really think you could wait that long? Do they think we just forget we could be pregnant and go on about our merry lives not counting days and minutes….ha.
    I’m not an early tester, but certainly I would be totally crazy if I waited 19 days.

    Reply

  13. Posted by yup, another sara on June 23, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    I am firmly in the no-testing camp, but this is too much– even for me! And the sex– I’ll just add that to my list of things to worry about.

    Reply

  14. O00h, I hope this is it! 19 days is way way too long to find out, though.

    Reply

  15. Yeah, waiting until the 7th?? That’s just craziness. I see the pros of not-testing…..but all of this is just too exciting to not test until THEN!!! I am crossing everything and wishing for much-deserved amazing news…

    Ps. Hmm…the no sex thing is rather curious…..I wonder what exactly it is that they would have a problem with…..

    Reply

  16. Eeek! No sex! Bummer. I’m so excited for you guys! I can’t wait to see your beautiful BFP!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

