Hurdling

Vee just got a call from the clinic to say that she’s downregged enough and can start the stims today. Fucking phew. That’s another hurdle out of the way.

Egg retrieval is probably going to be w/c 16th June, with embryo transfer two days later. I can’t quite believe I’m typing this. I hope all the other hurdles are cleared and umm – obviously – that vee gets pregnant. That isn’t too much to ask, right?

Talking of asking too much, we were a bit put out that vee only gets a scan next Friday, despite the fact we have to go in for bloods every two days – we’ve shelled out plenty, so you’d think it would cover a couple of measly scans. Apparently not. How very economical and British.

If I sound deflated, it’s because we were up at 5am to dodge traffic, sheep (yes, two) and rural surroundings. I’m not really deflated – I’m delighted, in a cautiously suspicious way… though it’s kind of easier just to think of this as a hugely complicated and more expensive IUI.

In fact, I can’t think about it at all unless I break it down into wee small chunks which can be kept at arms length, as if they might bite, and be considered carefully and slowly, one by one, in the correct order.

O for a simple life!

xx jay

11 responses to this post.

  1. Fingers crossed! I think you have had enough hurdles and I think it should be a straight shot to a BFP and then a baby. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  2. Posted by K on June 6, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    I can’t believe that after everything, we’ve managed to get ourselves synched to the exact same DAY! It’ll be interesting to see if our retrievals and… (deep breath) betas line up as closely. I know our transfers will probably be different as our clinic shoots for 5 day transfers. But, I think their goal is for my retrieval to fall on the 16th as well. Amazing!

    Bunches and heaps and barrels full of luck to you two.

    Reply

  3. This is amazing news. I hope it all goes smoothly and with the least stress possible. xo.

    Reply

  4. This post sounds so *magical*. Really, I’m feeling so good about all of this for you and Vee. All the love in the world to you both. xo

    Reply

  5. What wonderful news ๐Ÿ™‚

    (sorry bout the sheeps, it’s cows here!)

    Reply

  6. Wow. Wow. Wow. So excited. Such great news. I will be thinking every positive thought in the world on the 15th (b/c of the time difference) and then on the 16th, too. Trying to cover the cross-continental bases. I feel very hopeful for you guys.

    Reply

  7. Posted by gypsygrrl on June 6, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    sending out the IVP vibes your way…
    cautiously suspicious. i like that term.

    love and big hugs!
    xo

    Reply

  8. congratulations!!! you two DESERVE a BFP like no one else!!!!

    Reply

  9. wooo hoooo! hurrah for stims, ladies!

    sucks about the lack of scannage, but hopefully you can tell how your crop is growing by your E2 #’s.

    already sending the, “IT BETTER FUCKING WORK” mojo

    Reply

  10. i’ll be sending you every ounce of good luck and well wishes over the next two – three weeks.. If I could wish anyone a BFP – it would be you two.

    Reply

  11. Posted by yup, another sara on June 9, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    I can completely relate to the need to break things down into smaller chunks– this can all seem so very insane. I am sending all by best wishes– you have definitely “earned” your BFP!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

