Don’t tease a woman on fertility meds!

Jay learned this lesson the hard way tonight and got barked at for her trouble. Poor love.

But that wasn’t want I wanted to post about.

I went to an acupuncture appointment today and my needle queen told me that it’s very likely that she won’t be around to do my sessions around egg collection, transfer and TWW as she was probably going to be off work. “Oh, are you going on holiday?” I ask. “No,” she replies, “I’m adopting a little girl and we’re hoping she’ll be coming to me around those dates.”

Wow, she kept that one quiet.

Something she said during the ensuing conversation made me think that she has moved to adoption after struggling with infertility. So now I feel like a bit of a heel for whinging and moaning week in, week out, not realising how that might have felt for her to hear. I also feel a bit foolish for feeling quite so surprised that she didn’t share any of this. I mean, OK, she’s not my best mate or anything, she’s a professional, paid to listen to me – it’s her job blah, blah, but we chat, I’ve shared, I thought we were friendly. Now I’m just embarrassed to realise that I’ve actually just been overdisclosing.

I’m also a little put out at the idea of an unfamiliar male acupuncturist doing my most important sessions for this IVF. Because it’s all about me, isn’t it?!

Giant assholishness aside, I’m thrilled for her. She got quite shy telling me a little about it, but clearly she is so excited. I hope I get to meet her daughter someday soon.

vee xxx

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by tbean on May 30, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    I wouldn’t feel bad–you didn’t overshare. You are her patient and her client and part of her job is to listen to your history-medical/emotional/etc. Not for her to share back with you. It’s sort of a one-way relationship, kinda like with therapists. Anyways…that’s great that she’s got a baby girl on the way and I hope you find a replacement acu. person for those important IVF times!

    Reply

  2. part of the beauty of acu is that it also has that talk therapy aspect to it. Don’t beat yourself up over it. If she was really in a bad place she probably would have delegated you out.
    & don’t worry about a dude poking you with needles. I’ve had both & I actually found things were calmer with the guy because I wasn’t all chatty with him.

    xo

    Reply

  3. I’m with Cali– acupuncturists are, generally speaking, pretty in tune with their needs. She would have told you if she had a personal conflict with treating you. She probably empathized.

    FWIW– my acu is a guy. I was uncomfortable w/it too at first, but he is terrific.

    Reply

  4. Posted by scarredbellybutton on May 31, 2008 at 9:32 am

    How exciting that her daughter is coming to her.

    I would try not to feel bad about anything you’ve said, since it was in a professional/patient environment.

    FWIW my AcuGuy, HypnoGuy, RE and GP are all male and have been great.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

