STARK

Still no blood, so we tested this morning. Stark white negative.

Some kind soul on a message board also dug this out for me:-

CONCLUSION: In hMG-stimulated cycles, a second dose of hCG given during the midluteal phase significantly increases late luteal E2 and P levels and consistently lengthens the luteal phase.

Shame the nurses hadn’t read that, eh?

I know there are women who don’t test positive until later, but not me, I fear. I am certain it is the drugs that have caused my period to be late. You may think me pessimistic, but I call it realism.

I can’t believe I’m here yet again, writing, yet again, of another failure. I almost don’t want to post. What’s the point? It’s all been said before, on your end, and at ours. I could have just cut and pasted one of the other 15 miserable posts from our archives and had done with it. You could have cut and pasted your comments as well and we’d all have been done for another cycle with an extra 5 minutes in our day.

We’re going to walk the dog now. Life is not completely joyless, you see.

vee xxx

30 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ente on February 19, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Hold on to those little joys!

    Reply

  2. Maybe you are giving up hope, but I am not. I am holding out hope for you.

    Reply

  3. I’m sending you big virtual bear hugs and holding out hope as well.

    Reply

  4. Sending you hugs too!!

    Reply

  5. Holding out hope … Sending love …..

    Reply

  6. I’m mad at those nurses!

    Reply

  7. Damn! I think I’ve clicked on your blog a hundred times since your last post, hoping all the time for good news. So sorry to read about the BFN.

    I know exactly what you mean about reaching a point where it’s feels pointless to post about another negative. I wrote something very similar in my own blog a few months back.

    Hope you have time to do something nice for yourself today.

    Reply

  8. Well, crap! Stupid nurses! Stupid negative tests!

    Reply

  9. 😦 😦 😦

    Reply

  10. I am refusing to look at the stark white as a negative, but as a not positive YET.

    but fuck does the waiting blow chunks.
    thinking of you both

    Reply

  11. I won’t give up hope for you either!!

    Reply

  12. You can’t call this a failure. It’s just the shitty waiting in longer form. I’m here waiting for you love and making this a decidedly un-excited post, even though you know all I want to do is spew a few exclamation points around. Have a lovely day with the dog. Wish I could go for a walk with you and bitch about incompetent nurses.

    oxox

    Reply

  13. fuck…
    be well.
    enjoy all your walks.

    Reply

  14. Posted by reproducinggenius on February 19, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Another mindfuck is just what you need, isn’t it, ladies? I understand your frustration, especially with the continuing wait, but you’re doing the right thing by going for a walk. Keep enjoying each other. We’re all thinking of you.
    xoxo

    Reply

  15. I too have contemplating just recycling a thumbs down blog post. I’m really sorry and still hanging on to a tiny bit of hope for you.

    Reply

  16. I think it is these little things– the blog posts, the dog walks– that keep us moving through the days. I’m sorry this tww has been so up and down for both of you. I know how this feels– to wait and wait and really believe that you MUST be pregnant and then see that white space on the test. Keep your chins up. You will get there.

    Reply

  17. Well, I too am holding out hope, as I did with us every month (Co was ready to smack me when i suggested AF could be implantation spotting). We had a BFN at 14 dpo with Flipper; BFP at 15 dpo, but it wasn’t so F, really, kinda faint.

    I know that is an ultra annoying story if it *is* a BFN. But you guys deserve this way too much for me not to hang in there with my stupid hope.

    Reply

  18. Posted by tbean on February 19, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    When you know, you know. And you know. And that sucks. And I’m sorry.

    Reply

  19. Fucking white. I hate it. Hang tight, y’all.

    Reply

  20. I’m all about the small joys these days. I’m sorry. the Hcg does nothing for my luteal phases, but I’ve had months where AF just goes on vacation for no clear reason. And it totally sucks sweaty donkey balls.

    Reply

  21. I’m sorry.

    Thanks for writing the bit about life not being completely joyless; it helped me today.

    Reply

  22. Oh Gawd – this is like a suspense movie, only more intense because it’s real. Fingers crossed! xo

    Reply

  23. I am holding you both in my heart and my fingers are crossed.

    Reply

  24. Posted by erirish1 on February 20, 2008 at 7:45 am

    With all the science out there…..disappointment still….sorry ladies.

    Reply

  25. Posted by owlie on February 20, 2008 at 8:47 am

    just crap. crap. crap.
    i hope you are wrong, very wrong, stranger things have happened.

    Reply

  26. Posted by scarredbellybutton on February 20, 2008 at 9:26 am

    Well the blank test certainly sucks (TimTams anyone?) but you just never know what tomorrow could bring.

    Reply

  27. oh vee. buggers. I hope that all hope isn’t lost. Regardless, we are sending our big warm hugs.

    Reply

  28. Posted by Hopeful on February 20, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    You my blogger friend have been TAGGED. Check my blog out for the rules ;}

    Reply

  29. Posted by dismantledarmadillo on February 21, 2008 at 4:32 am

    Thinking of you both. Holding out hope.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

