LUF freak-out

Ok, ok, I know this Luteinizing Unruptured Follicle Syndrome thing is pretty rare, and I probably haven’t really got it and it probably doesn’t happen every cycle anyway, but ARRRGGHHH, I wish I hadn’t started looking. (And yes, I know that posting about it here makes me a Bad Person, because now you’re all going to freak out and think you have it too – sorry!)

The luteinized unruptured follicle syndrome is a form of anovulation and a subtle cause of female infertility. The syndrome cannot be diagnosed by traditional progesterone-dependent ovalation detection methods. Without the use of invasive procedures or sophisticated equipment, the luteinized unruptured follicle syndrome may go unnoticed. The patient diagnosed as ovulatory, on the basis of traditional ovulation detection methods, who does not conceive may be experiencing the luteinized unruptured follicle syndrome, and thus infertility. Schoen LeMaire, Gail 1987

She said it in posh words, but basically, it’s when your egg doesn’t get released from the follicle. A corpus lutem still forms, so any hormonal blood tests would indicate that ovulation had occurred, as would temps, but because the egg is not released into the abdominal cavity, no pregnancy will occur. The only way of telling this is by ultrasound scan, apparently.

Needless to say, there’s a wealth of conflicting evidence about it out there – clomid helps; clomid makes it worse; a trigger shot solves the problem; but not always; it’s hormonal; it’s linked to a short luteal phase…. The guy I liked best said he doesn’t believe it even exists and that LUF diagnoses through u/s were so often proved incorrect via lap that it’s all just tosh.

The long and short of it is that really this makes no difference. Our clinic is not cutting edge or patient-centred. It does not carry out research. It is formulaic. We will have our appointment on Jan 3rd, we will get our stimulated, ovulation-induced cycle x 3 and if that does not produce a pregnancy, we will be cleared to move on to IVF (though whether we go there or not is a discussion we’ll save until we need to have it).

Do you see what I did there? I just talked myself down off the ledge. Que sera, sera, eh?

Now get over to the Family O’s place and cheer on the impending arrival of Flipper!

vee

5 responses to this post.

  1. so you can’t get an u/s to confirm ovulation? I’ve had a couple of those- they do a quick wand & you can see a ruptured follicle.

    but seriously- stop internet researching! It can suck the air out of the universe.

    xo

    Reply

  2. Awesome job talking yourself off the ledge. for real. And I happen to agree with your reasoning.

    Reply

  3. I’m glad you talked yourself down from that ledge. I agree with your favorite expert, I’m not sure that syndrome exists – besides, your action plan is quite lovely, and I’m looking forward to baby Vee&Jay in 2008!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by reproducinggenius on December 14, 2007 at 12:03 am

    Vee, the internet medical research just slays me sometimes, and this is the very sort of thing I would find myself researching for hours and then losing precious sleep because I’ve suddenly got a new ailment.

    It sounds like this is a matter of some controversy, and your favorite expert is most likely the right one (at least that’s what I’m going to believe to keep myself from staying up all night researching this thing–because the gods know if I do, I’ll have it!).

    Reply

  5. I love/hate “Dr. Googling”. So I know how you are feeling. I am hopeful that even if your clinic is not cutting edge a stimulated cycle will be sucessful to you – At least it is a new approach. I agree with Sara BABY in 2008.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

