8 things about vee

It’s all going a bit memetastic over here at the moment, but it’s all good fun, and I don’t have anything else to blog about, because I’m totally not doing twinges and signs and “could this mean something”s this month.

So here are 8 things you (probably) didn’t know about me:-

1. I’ve never worn a pair of handcuffs in my life.

2. I have undies in my knicker drawer that make Cali’s dearly departed old faithfuls seem like they were snatched in the spendour of their youth!

3. When I was a kid, I briefly had a white mouse. My mum wouldn’t let me keep it in the house, so it lived in the shed. I forgot to feed it and it died. To this day, recalling that makes me burn with shame. Wherever you are now, Twitchy, I’m sorry.

4. The first gig I ever went to was to see U2. I got the ticket by default when this guy I really fancied got ditched by his beautiful girlfriend before he had the chance to tell her he’d got the tickets. He spent the whole evening crying on my shoulder about her.

5. I got expelled from playgroup at the age of three for pulling another girl off the swing backwards by her hair.

6. My mum taught me to read before I went to school using the Glen Doman method. I have loved reading all my life, and for most of my childhood I kept a different book in several rooms of the house and would read whichever book was in the room that I was, keeping 4 or 5 on the go at the same time. I would love to be disciplined enough to make more time in my life for reading, but these days I’m lucky if I snatch 15 minutes at bed time. Thanks mum!

7. I own several items of clothing that I have never worn, and never will. These include a 1940’s boned, ruched swimsuit. It’s beautiful and I can’t part with it, or the other vintage gems I’ve collected over the years, even though this drives jay to distraction.

8. When I was a baby, I slept for England. My parents had to wake me to feed me and I snoozed 20 hours out of 24. By the age of 2, the doctor was suggesting tranquilisers to calm my outrageous tantrums. No prizes for guessing which of these traits I hope our children inherit!

vee

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rachel from RC on July 28, 2007 at 2:25 am

    3. When I was a kid, I briefly had a white mouse. My mum wouldn’t let me keep it in the house, so it lived in the shed. I forgot to feed it and it died. To this day, recalling that makes me burn with shame. Wherever you are now, Twitchy, I’m sorry.

    I did the exact, exact, exact same thing except read “garage” for “shed” and “Algernon” for “Twitchy”.

    I’ll always feel rotten about that.

    Reply

  2. hmmm… I guess tantrums!!

    Reply

  3. so you’re likely to pass on a love of reading to your own child. That is a very good thing indeed.

    Reply

  4. […] week’s button theme has given me an excuse to show off at least part of my useless vintage clothing collection. (For “vintage clothing”, read “smelly old things from charity shops that are far […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

